THE AMERICAN PERIODICAL SERIES (APS)
AND ITS INDEXES

 

 

Last updated: October 21, 2003  Page Editor: Michael Unsworth


APS Microfilm Collection | Index to Early American Periodicals | APS Full Text

APS Microfilm Collection

The American Periodical Series was produced by University Microfilms International (UMI) from 1941 through the early 1970s. (APS) in the Microforms Library. This set contains 1028 periodicals with publishing dates 1741 the 1930s. Located in the Microforms Library (2nd Floor, West Wing). It is divided chronologically into three parts:

American Periodicals, 1700-1799 (APS I) MICROFILM 313a 88 titles List of Titles
American Periodicals, 1800-1850 (APS II) MICROFILM 313b 923 titles List of Titles
American Periodicals, 1850-1900 (APS III) MICROFILM 313c 117 titles List of Titles

There is no printed index for the articles in the APS's periodicals. A guide to the entire set, American Periodicals, 1741-1900, is located in Closed Reference (1st Floor, East Wing) and the Microforms Guides collection (2nd Floor, West Wing) at Z6951 .H65.


Index to Early American Periodicals (IEAP)
(Restricted to
MSU NetID (Pilot) accounts)

Once one has found a citation, one needs to go the microfilm APS segment shelved in the Microforms Library. Click here to access IEAP.


APS Full Text
(Restricted to
MSU NetID (Pilot) accounts)

This database consists of scanned images of the microfilm master copy. Choose "Advanced Search."

Click here to access APS Full Text.


Return to Michael E. Unsworth's Home Page

Send e-mail to Michael E. Unsworth


 Michigan State University Libraries
Michael Unsworth
URL:
http://www.lib.msu.edu/unsworth/
Page editor:
unsworth@pilot.msu.edu


Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan, 48824
MSU is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Institution