Russian Newspapers and Journals Online
- East View Universal Database of Russian
Newspapers (MSU only) This is a searchable database of
the full text of more than fifty Russian newspapers. Most of them are in Russian,
but a few are in English. Newspapers are available the same day they hit the
newsstand in Russia, and the archive goes back at least to 1996 (some titles
earlier.) The database is searchable in English, Russian (cyrillic) or transliterated
Russian (Library of Congress transliteration), but best results are by searching
in the cyrillic alphabet. A Russian keyboard is included with the database,
or you can use your own.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
(MSU only)
This resource is known more for its use as a legal resource,
but its News section is a good source for English-language news updates.
World News will allow searches of North American, Asian, European, and Middle
East/African news sources in English. All kinds of news reports are included:
from sports to entertainment to politics and religion.To search for daily or
weekly news updates: use keywords to identify your topic, then select European
News Sources from Sources. Under Date, the pull down menu will allow you
to choose today's news or news from the past week; you can also select certain
dates to search. This last feature is important because if you are searching
for news on a specific event, and you know approximately when it took place,
you can enter those dates in your search and get better results.
- World News Connection
(MSU Only)
Electronic continuation of the Foreign Broadcast Information
Service reports, going back to 1996. Includes translations of radio and television
broadcasts as well as translations of Internet versions of news sources.
Be sure to click "exit" as a courtesy to other users when finished with the
database, as only a few people can access it at the same time.
- Current Digest of the Post-Soviet
Press (MSU Only)
Available through Lexis Nexis Academic Universe or via the Library
Citrix server. Best for news on all parts of the former Soviet Union,
the Current Digest translates important Russian newspaper articles into English.
The CD-Rom version contains the complete text of every translation appearing
in "The Current Digest..." in the years 1982-1998.
- Nezavisimaya Gazeta
Online version of the popular Russian newspaper. In Russian only.
Has an archive.
- Itogi
Media Most weekly news magazine. Archive of issues goes back to March 2000
(as of 5/2002). In Russian.
- Iskusstvo kino Important
Russian film journal, in print since the 1930s. The online archive goes
back to 1998:1
- Segodnia
Media Most daily that ceased in April 2001. Online archive has
issues from 2000 and 2001. In Russian.
- Izvestia
Daily news in Russian. Archive searching requires subscription.
- Moskovskie Novosti
A weekly newspaper, the Russian language edition has an electronic
version free online. The archive currently goes back to May, 2000.
- Znamia
Literary journal in Russian only. Archive of issues goes back
to 1996.
- Novyi Mir
Literary journal in Russian only. Archive goes back to 1995.
Also features an index to the contents of Novyi Mir from 1926-1999.
- Radio Free Europe/ Radio Liberty
Reports:
Russia Page Search Server: Allows searches of various RFE/RL reports, including
Newsline and the Russian Federation Report. Searching can be done in English
or in Russian via the Radio Svoboda page.
- RFE/RL Newsline
Return to Online Resources for Slavic
Studies
Last modified 09/12/2002 TTM