Middle East Studies: Resources at MSU
Index Islamicus
Coverage: 1906-1997; on the Citrix Server
Index Islamicus is the international classified bibliography of publications
in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. The publications
recorded are journal articles, books and reviews. All essays and papers contained
in multi-author volumes are recorded, classified and indexed separately. About
2500 periodicals are surveyed, including general history, social science, history
of science and arts titles as well as specialist area- and subject-based ones.
Details of articles, and of reviews of relevant books (and occasionally also
films and other material) are taken from the periodicals surveyed.
Some relevant articles and reviews published electronically are also recorded.
NOTE: This database only covers works published through 1997.
Historical Abstracts
Coverage: 1955-present
Covers books, journal articles and dissertations on history, with decent coverage
of political science journals as well. MSU is much more likely to have the journals
that are indexed here than in Index Islamicus, but coverage of the Middle East
isn't nearly as in depth.
Columbia International
Affairs Online
Coverage: 1991-present
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory
and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship
from 1991 on that includes journal article abstracts, books, working papers
from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded
research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Much of the available material
is full-text. It also contains basic information and maps on each country out
of the World Factbook and links to the CIA's Chiefs of State and Cabinet
Members of Foreign Governments (which is continuously updated.)
Searching this database is a bit tricky: if using Boolean operators in the simple search, they must appear in caps (e.g. AND, OR). Limited searching by date is available through the advanced search. Results are always returned by relevance.
International Bibliography
of the Social Sciences
Coverage: 1951-present (ERL database)
Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London
School of Economics & Political Science, this database contains bibliographic
information from an international selection of publications (including over
2600 journals) in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and
anthropology.Records come from more than 100 countries and 70 languages. Most
articles and books not in English are provided with an English title translation.
This database provides citations of journals, books, book reviews, and chapters
when multiple authors have worked on a book.
Citations often have electronic links to journal or publisher websites where the full text of the material may or may not be available.
PAIS International
Coverage: 1972-present (FirstSearch)
Consists of citations and abstracts (beginning in 1985) of articles, books,
conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical
directories about economics, politics, public affairs, etc. Excellent
index to find reports and scholarly research relating to international studies.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Atlases
Encyclopaedia of Islam
On the Citrix server.
This is the electronic version of the enormous Encyclopaedia of Islam
(DS37.E5, Reference, Consulting Reference.) It is very broad in coverage and
scope, and is best for the advanced researcher. Entries tend to be on historical
personages and language, but articles on key cities and persons in the historical
Islamic world, or which were important to Islamic culture and development, can
be found here.
For the one-volume, concise version of this encyclopedia, see the Islamic
Desk Reference DS35.53 I83, Reference. This is most suitable for looking
up names of people and places in the Middle East.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East
DS 43. E53 1996 4 volumes. Reference
This Encyclopedia has short entries on a wide variety of topics, signed by authors.
Some entries include suggested bibliographies. Includes an enormous index and
genealogies of royal families for most of the Middle East. It does not
include the former Soviet republics of Central Asia or the Caucasus, but it
does include North Africa.
Middle East and North Africa
2002 DS41 .M5 Reference
A Europa regional series volume. Similar to the Europa World Yearbook in scope,
but goes into more depth for each country. Excellent general overviews of critical
regional topics such as "Oil in the Middle East and North Africa," "Documents
on Palestine," and "Arab-Israeli Relations."
The Muslim Almanac
BP40.M83 1996 Reference
Excellent source of general information and background on topics related to
the study of Islam--geared toward the non-expert reader. This is a good place
to start for someone who is exploring concepts in Islam--for example, what is
the difference between Sunni and Shia muslims, what is Sufism, etc. Covers the
history of the religion, biographical information on major figures, and discusses
Islam and its practice in many areas of the world.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World.
DS35.53O95 1995 Reference
Long articles covering basic through advanced topics suitable for most college
students. Entries have good bibliographies and are signed by experts in the
field. A very good index concludes volume 4.
New Encyclopedia of Islam
BP40.G42 Reference
Very short entries without much context--good for identifying people, places
and events, but not so good for getting a grasp of concepts. Better for more
advanced students.
Encyclopedia of the Holy Quran
BP133.E63 Reference
This encyclopedia covers over 300 'themes' and how they are addressed in the
Quran. This is a source to use if one wants to see how the Quran looks at women,
the law, or even Jesus. It attempts to be interpretive by quoting the Quran
extensively, but it is not particularly easy to read or understand. Does point
out areas of the Quran that are cause for debate among scholars. A better source
for these kinds of questions might be to search MAGIC for "koran and women"
or "koran and Jesus," etc.
Link to Online
Resources for Central Asian/Middle East Studies.
|
Page Editor: Terri Miller Last Updated February 17, 2004 Comments to: Terri Miller |