Databases and Indexes Useful for Researching the Holocaust
Primary Source Material:
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature REFERENCE, 1 East AI3 .R48 In
print only; electronic covers back to 1983.
Terms:
Jews, Jewish
World War 1939--Prisoners and prisons
World War--Atrocities
World War--Jews and the War
For later dates, search terms Holocaust, Genocide, War Crimes
New York Times: Proquest
Historical Newspapers (1857-present) Contains full text images
of the New York Times, and allows searching from 1857 to the present. Allows
one to read single articles or browse entire issues by date.
Terms:
World War II-Prisoners and Interned Civilians (1943-45)
Jews, Jewish
World War II--Atrocities
Periodical Contents Index
Contains materials found in the Readers Guide; but very little is full text
at this point. Also does not have as many citations. Terminology is tricky and
varies over time.
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe: For current news and reviews going back only to about 1980. Has U.S. and foreign news. Good for finding information on current political and societal views of the Holocaust. Can also use to find book and film reviews published in newspapers.
Secondary Sources:
Historical
Abstracts
Indexes journal articles from about 2000 historical journals back to 1955, including
Holocaust and Genocide Studies. Some articles are available in full-text
format; others are in print in the library. Use MAGIC to find the location of
journals indexed here.
Terms: Use Keyword searches; Historical Abstracts does not use "holocaust"
as a subject term (it uses genocide instead!)
PsycInfo
Indexes thousands of journals, books and dissertations going back to 1887 on
psychology.
Terms: Holocaust is used regularly, so searching with that term is very effective.
Proquest Religion Index
Covers only about 95 titles on Religion, going back to about 1990. Articles
cover a broad range, from history to religious philosophy. Great source for
Catholic views of the Holocaust. Lots of full text articles online.
Religion Index and Index to religious periodical literature.
REFERENCE 1 EAST Z7753 .A5
The main index to periodicals and books on Religion, going back to 1949. Difficult
to use, but worth it if looking at the religious/philosophical view of the Holocaust
over time.
Finding Book
Reviews in the MSU Libraries
A resource guide created by an MSU Librarian to help students find book reviews.
Sources recommended are largely dependent on what type of book it is and when
it was written.
Index Medicus and/or Current list of medical literature. Z6660 .I422
and Z6660 .I414
These are print indexes to medical literature that together roughly cover the
period 1870-present. Years before 1959 are held in the Main Library, Consulting
Reference. For later years, use MEDLINE.
Return to Holocaust
Bibliography
http://www.lib.msu.edu/ticklet/guides/holocaust.htm