SELECTED TEST PREPARATION MATERIALS

IN THE MAIN LIBRARY

The MSU Library is a member of the MSU Test Preparation Consortium.  Visiting the web site of the Consortium can show you other free resources on campus which can help you prepare for standarized tests.


Note: the only "official" preparation materials are those produced by the testing company.


Computer-based Test Preparation Programs:

Analogies College Bound (Hartley Courseware) PE1576.F55 1986 - Software Collection: Available for Checkout
The Comprehensive NCLEX-RN Review (MEDS Publishing) - Main Library Reference: Workstations 12-15
GRE General Test: POWERPREP Software (version 2.0, ETS) - Software Collection: Test Workstations, Room Use Only
How to Prepare for the TOEFL Test : Test of English as a Foreign Language (Barron's) PE1128 .S5 2001 - Software Collection: Available for Checkout
Inside the SAT (CD-ROM, Learning Company) LB2353.57.I57 1998 - Software Collection: Available for Checkout
NCLEX-RN (Simon & Schuster) RT55 .B87 2001 - Software Collection: Available for Checkout
Saunders Q & A Review for NCLEX-RN (Saunders) RT55 .S485 2002 - Software Collection: Available for Checkout
Test Preparation for the Computer-Adaptive GMAT: POWERPREP Software (GMAC) - Software Collection: Test Workstations, Room Use Only
Test Preparation for the GRE General Test (Powerprep software, version 1.1, ETS) LB2367.4.T48 1996 - Software Collection: Available for Checkout.
TOEFL Mentor (CD-ROM, Encomium) - Software Collection: Test Workstations, Room Use Only
TOEFL Sampler (CD-ROM, ETS) PE1128.T63 1998 - Software Collection: Room Use Only
TOEIC Pronunciation in American English (CD-ROM, Chauncey Group International) PE2815.H3 2000 - Software Collection
2001 USMLE Information on Step 1, Step 2, and Step 3 (CD-ROM, National Board of Medical Examiners) R837.E9T9 2000 - Software Collection
Your Personal Trainer for the GRE (CD-ROM, Davidson) LB2367.4.Y68 1995 - Software Collection: Available for Checkout.

Audio Resources:

Intermediate TOEFL Test Practices (Univ. of Michigan) AVC 271 Audiocassette tape 1-4 - Digital and Multimedia Center: Room Use Only (accompanying book: PE1128.F5748 1997 Main Reserve)
TOEFL Test Preparation Kit (ETS) PE1128.T63 1998 - Digital and Multimedia Center: Room Use Only

General Test Preparation Resources:

501 Reading Comprehension Questions (Learning Express) LB1050.45.A15 1999 - Reserves
1001 Math Problems (Learning Express) QA43.A12 1999 - Reserves
GRE-GMAT Math Review (Macmillan) QA43.F67 1999 - Reserves
Logic & Reading Review for the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT (Peterson's) LB2366.2.R69 1999 - Reserves
Mechanical Aptitude and Spatial Relations Tests (Macmillan) BF433.M4M43 1999 - Main Reserve
Vocabulary Building PE1449.D28 1990 - Main Library (Stacks)
Words for Smart Test-Takers: SAT, ACT, GRE, GMAT, LSAT (Arco) PE1449.S74 1998 - Reserves

Test-Specific Print Resources:

Allied Health Professions Admission Test (AHPAT) (Williams & Wilkins) R697.A4A46 1999 - Reserves
Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) (Barron's) U408.5.H69 2000 - Careers Collection
Civil Service (Arco) JK716.H3378 1998 - Careers Collection
CLEP (College Board) LB2353.68.C65 2000- College Guides
Corrections Officer (Learning Express) HV9470.C69 2000 - Careers Collection
Dental Admission Test (DAT) (National Learning Corp.) RK57.R82 1998 - Reserves
Foreign Service Officer (Arco) JX1706.Z6A8 1992 - Careers Collection
Graduate Management Admissions Test (GMAT):
Graduate Record Exam (GRE):
biochemistry/cell & molecular biology - biology - chemistry - computer science - economics - education - engineering - geology - history - literature in English - mathematics - music - physics - political science - psychology - sociology
Law Enforcement Exams (Arco) HV8143.S828 2000 - Careers Collection
Law School Admission Test (LSAT):
Medical College Admission Test (MCAT):
Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (various subject study guides) LB1763.M5M... - Reserves
Miller Analogies Test (MAT) (Research and Education Association) LB2367.6.B47 1998 - Reserves
National Teacher Exam (NTE) Praxis II (Research & Education Association) LB1762.B49 1998 - Careers Collection (accompanying disk in Software)
NCLEX-RN:
Optometry Admission Test (OAT) (Williams & Wilkins) RE959.5.O28 1998 - Reserves
Pharmacy College Admission Test (PCAT) (Williams & Wilkins) RS105.P33 1998 - Reserves
Police Officer Exam:
Police Sergeant (Barron's) HV8142.S37 1997 - Main Library (stacks)
PPST - Praxis I with disk (Learning Express) LB2367.75.P77 1998 - Reserves
Praxis II/NTE Core Battery (Research & Education Association) LB1762.B49 1998 - Careers Collection (accompanying disk in Software)
Probation Officer, Parole Officer (Arco) HV9278.P697 1996 - Main Library (stacks)
SPEAK Test (Spoken Proficiency English Assessment Kit) (Univ. of Mich. Press) PE1128.P264 1998 - Reserves
Special Agent (Arco) HJ268.S74 1994 - Main Library (stacks)
State Trooper (Barron's) HV8143.S342 1996 - Main Library (stacks)
Teacher Certification Tests (Arco) LB1762.D55 1999 - Careers Collection
TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) (Barron's) PE1128.S5 2001 - Reserves
TOEFL Grammar Workbook (Arco) PE1128.L47 1992 - Reserves & Main Library (stacks)
TOEFL Intermediate Test Practices (Univ. of Michigan) PE1128.F5748 1997 - Reserves (accompanying audiocassettes in Digital and Multimedia Center)
TOEFL Reading and Vocabulary Workbook (Arco) PE1128.D354 1992 - Reserves & Main Library (stacks)
TOEIC:
TSE (Test of Spoken English) (Univ. of Mich. Press) PE1128.P264 1998 - Reserves
Veterinary Entrance Tests (VETS) (Williams & Wilkins) SF756.35.H37 2001 - Reserves
ALl of these bokks can also be purchased online through Amazon and Amazing Cheap Books.

Last updated 3/7/2003 (Lorenzen)