Sources for State of Michigan Statistics


Sources of statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive; rather, it provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources. Although most of the materials listed below are located in the Government Documents Library (Main Library, 3 West), some materials are located in other Library locations. Selected WWW resources are also included. Please ask at the Main Library Reference Desk (floor 1 East) if you need further assistance.




INDEXES



American Statistics Index (ASI)[Statistics Alcove Z1223 .Z7 A4] Monthly, cumulated quarterly and annually. 1974 on.

Indexes and abstracts the wide range of statistical publications produced by the U.S. government. This index contains references to publications and tables that contain breakdowns of data by state. Of particular interest is the Index by Categories section with its geographic subsection. The majority of the materials indexed in ASI are available in the Government Documents Library in paper or microfiche.

Statistical Reference Index (SRI)[Statistics Alcove Z 7554 .U5 S75] Monthly, cumulated quarterly and annually. 1980 on.

Indexes and abstracts statistical publications produced by state governments and private organizations, including trade associations and independent research organizations. Many of the publications cited are available in the SRI microfiche collection.

For electronic coverage of ASI and SRI see Lexis-Nexis Statistical.

Some of the tables are available full text on the WWW. A large majority of the remaining citations are available in full text in the microfiche collection.


GENERAL SOURCES


Michigan Statistical Abstract [Latest in Closed Ref.; earlier in Main Library HA441 .M53] Annual 1955-

Statistical Abstract of the United States [Latest in Closed Ref.; earlier in Census Alcove C3.134: Past five years on the web at Stats Ab] Annual 1879-

More specific State, County and City data published by the Federal Government may be found by using either the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book or the County and City Data Book Fuller coverage is found in the print versions of these works. Check magic for availability.


SUBJECT-SPECIFIC SOURCES


AGRICULTURE

Michigan Agricultural Statistics [Latest edition in Closed Reference or on the web at MAS; earlier in Open Ref. S451.M5 A2] Annual 1951-

1997 Census of Agriculture, AC97-A-22, Michigan, State and County Data, Volume 1, Geographic Area Series, Part 22, March 1999 [Gov. Docs. Census Alcove A 92.53/22:AC 97-A-22 or on the web at 1997 and 1992 Census of AG]

1992 census of agriculture. Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan, state and county data. [Gov. Docs. Closed Ref. C3.31/4:992/V.1/PT.22]

County Agricultural Statistics 1996 [MI DOC AG C948: 12C68- 996 Gov. Docs. Statistics Alcove; also in Main Library HD1775.M5 F7 1997]

Michigan Agricultural Statistical Service

Michigan Agricultural Statistics Service is considered a Division within the Michigan Department of Agriculture. Michigan Agricultural Statistics publishes several reports which are available from their homepage. A sampling of reports include:

·         Agriculture Across Michigan: a monthly four-page newsletter, reporting the latest Michigan agricultural statistics.

·         Crop Weather: a weekly report, May through November, covering crop conditions, progress, growth and development; temperature and rainfall data.



CRIME

Uniform Crime Report for the State of Michigan [Latest in Closed Reference; earlier in Main Library HV6793.M5 A33 also the most recent with some historical data may be found on the web at Uniform Crime Report] Periodical 1973-

Reports and Publications of the Michigan State Police.



EDUCATION

K-12 Public Education in Michigan: selected characteristics and services by county and school district [Main Library LA307 .R63 1997]

Condition of Michigan Education 1992 [Consulting Ref. LA307.A47 M5 1992]

MDR's School Directory Michigan [Latest in Closed Ref.; earlier in Main Lib. L903.M5 C15] Annual 1994-

Provides data for state, county, district and even school level. Covers all Public and Non-public K-12 Schools. Value added statistics include a "District Buying Power Index" whereby counties and districts are ranked by the amount of money they spend on instructional materials.

Michigan Department of Education offers a wide variety of statistics under broad headings such as "Administrators," or "Parents and Family." Some examples include:

·         Michigan School Report (contracted from Standard and Poor)

·         School performance data

School District Data Book courtesy National Center for Education Statistics.

MEAP and High School Test (HST) Results

Data are from 1996 to the present.



ENVIRONMENT AND ENERGY

Michigan ... annual air quality report [Gov. Docs. Michigan Collection TD883.5.M47 M53] Annual 1995-

Michigan Energy Appraisal [Gov. Docs. HD9502.U53 M58 or on the web at Michigan Energy Appraisal]

This appraisal provides a semiannual review of the balance between energy supply and demand in Michigan. Short-term trends are projected and energy prices are reviewed.

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality

Although a section specifically for statistics does not exist, there are many statistical publications on this site. For example, you may find data on water and air quality under the "Michigan's Environment" section.



FINANCE

Ad valorem property tax levy report: state equalized valuations & average tax rate data, city tax levies, village tax levies, township tax levies. [Latest in Michigan Government Documents Collection HJ4121.M49 S74]

Comprehensive Annual Financial Report of the State of Michigan [Latest in Ref.; earlier editions in Gov. Docs. HJ11 .M525] Annual 1984-
Estimated State Spending and State Tax Collections by County, Fiscal Year... [Gov. Docs. Michigan Docs. Collection HJ11 .M5494] Annual 1988/89-

Executive budget [Latest Closed Reference or on the web at Executive Budgets; earlier in Michigan Documents Collection, Basement West HJ11 .M535] Annual 1962-

Fiscal Digest [Gov Docs Mich Docs Coll HJ2053.M5 M52] Annual 1994-

The Governor's ... budget proposal : review and analysis [Gov. Docs. Michigan Docs. Collection HJ11 .M539] Annual 1985/86-

House Fi$cal Agency Update: key economic indicators [Latest in Gov. Docs. Curr. Periodicals LGH 84:51/] Monthly 1995-

State of Michigan Revenue: source and distribution [Gov. Docs. Michigan Docs. Collection HJ11 .M557] Semi-annual

Statistical Report [Latest in Stats. Alcove; earlier editions Main Library HJ505 .S7]

Presents tables covering many aspects of government revenue and expenditures. The tables include subjects such as Historical Budgets, Human Services, and other Economic Data. The appendix has a well done glossary of budget terms.

Department of Management of Budget web site contains many financial reports.


Department of Agricultural Economics' State & Local Government Information

This webpage has as its primary focus public policy issues in Michigan. Within this scope is several links to statistical information on State Equalized Valuation (SEV) and County Millage Rates.

Consolidated Federal Funds Report

The Consolidated Federal Funds Report (CFFR), from the Census Bureau, is a presentation of Federal Government expenditures or obligations for all states, counties and subcounty areas of the U.S. Data is available from 1993-2003.

Federal Reserve Bank

Timely updates on Michigan financial and economic topics by the Detroit Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.



HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES

Michigan Health Statistics [Latest in Ref.; earlier in Gov. Docs. MI Doc. Collection RA407.4.M5 M4 Also on the web at Community Health Information] Annual 1951-

Data relative to population, births, deaths, fetal deaths, marriages, divorces and communicable diseases are included.

Michigan quarterly HIV report [Gov. Docs. Curr. Periodicals RA644.A25 M52] 1996-

Department of Community Health-HIV/AIDS Data Link contains reports, statistics, and other information relating to HIV/AIDS in Michigan.


Detroit Community AIDS Library

Provides a gateway to HIV/AIDS statistics for the entire state. They provide a pdf version of the Michigan Quarterly HIV Report mentioned above.

Assistance Payments Statistics [Latest edition in Main Library Periodicals HV86 .M57] Monthly

Michigan Critical Health Indicators [Gov. Docs. RA407.4.M5 C75; also on the web at Michigan Critical Health Indicators courtesy of the Michigan Department of Community Health.]

Program statistics [Latest edition on Gov Doc Statistics Alcove; earlier in Gov. Docs. Michigan Docs. Collection HV86 .M5363] Annual

Data on state income maintenance programs were prepared by the Michigan Department of Social Services until 1995. The newly created Michigan Family Independence Agency resumed publication in 1996. The FIA's website maintains much of the same statistics as found in Program Statistics but not under the same title. A good starting place is the County Statistics Page.



INDUSTRY AND BUSINESS

Michigan Economic Profiles courtesy of Michigan Economic Development Corporation.

You may select any county from the interactive Michigan Map to find data on business climate, number of industrial sites, property tax base, earning levels, etc.

County Business Patterns courtesy of the US Census Bureau.

You may select any county from the Michigan Map and then select from the appropriate year of County Business Patterns. Data displayed will represent employees, payroll and establishments for broad business endeavors such as mining, construction and manufacturing. Data is further broken into 4-digit SIC code areas.

Tax and Revenue Reports from the Michigan Department of Treasury.

Current and Historical data is available on a variety of tax levies. Some of the PDF reports available include:

·         Non-profit Hospital Tax Expenditures,

·         Cigarette and Tobacco Taxes,

·         Single Business Tax Statistical Update,

·         and Sales and Use Taxes

Economic and Revenue Data courtesy of the Senate Fiscal Agency.



LABOR

Michigan's Labor Market News [Latest in Labor/Industrial Relations; earlier in Main Library Periodicals HD5725.M5 A3 (AKA Michigan Labor Market Review 1975-1992)] Monthly 1992-

Labor Market Data courtesy of the Michigan Department of Career Development Employment Service Agency Office of Labor Market Information. Unemployment and industry projections are included.



POPULATION

Demographic Census Data from the State Budget Office.

Current and historical statistics are available. Some mapping information is also available. For more complete mapping information see the Center for Geographic Information's www site.

US Census Bureau State and County Quick Facts

Provides demographic data culled from the 2000 Census.

1990 Census of Population and Housing. Block statistics. East North Central division (part). Indiana, Michigan, Ohio [Closed Ref. C3.282/3:CD90-1B-3]

Selected block-level data from Summary tape file 1B, including total population, age, race, and Hispanic origin, number of housing units, tenure, room density, mean contract rent, mean value, and mean number of rooms in housing units.

Census Alcove [Main Library, 1 East]

The main library has a complete run of the decennial censuses from 1790 to the present. The volumes cover all available census geography for Michigan.

United States Historical Census Data Browser - courtesy the University of Virginia.

The data presented here describe the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1970. There are a limited number of characteristics. Please see print volumes for fuller treatment.

American FactFinder
The Census Bureau's primary tool for disseminating Census and other statistical information.



TELECOMMUNICATIONS

Use Assessment of Michigan's Telecommunications Systems [Latest edition in Gov. Docs. Michigan Documents Collection, HE7791.M5 M523 1990 v.1-9]

Although not a statistical publication per se, this report by its very nature provides a wide range of statistics from staffing and expenditures to office automation usage.

Telecommunications Competition in Michigan and Regulatory Alternatives: a Report to the Michigan Divestiture Research Fund Board [Latest edition in Business, HE7787 .T44 1988 v.1&2]

v. 1. Market structure and competition in the Michigan telecommunications industry -- v. 2. Analysis of regulatory alternatives.

MichNet Statistics and Reports

MichNet, the statewide computer network operated by Merit Network,Inc., provides access from computers and local area networks in Michigan to the worldwide Internet. Reports include dial-in and backbone use statistics by month.



TRADE

Michigan Statistical Abstract [Latest in Closed Ref.; earlier in Main Library HA441 .M53] Annual 1955-

You will find in Chapter XVI current and historical Wholesale and Retail trade figures. Most of the data is broken down by county.

State Export Data courtesy of the International Trade Administration.

"All state export values in this report are from the U.S. Census Bureau's Exporter Location (EL) series. The EL series, which the Census Bureau began issuing in 1993, allocates exports to states according to the location of the exporter of record. The EL series can track export sales of states, metropolitan areas, and zip codes (three-digit level)." Data that may be found on this site include, State Export Sales by Industry Sector to Leading Markets and State Export Totals to Leading U.S. Export Destinations, 1993-98.

World Trade Atlas: U.S. State Edition

The World Trade Atlas: U.S. State Export Edition contains State data by origin of movement into the export market. Users can display exports by state to individual countries or regions as well as exports by air, sea or other mode of transportation. This database contains three years of data.



TRANSPORTATION

Michigan Traffic Crash Facts [Gov. Docs. Michigan Docs. Collection HE5614.3.M4 M54] Annual 1991-

Michigan transportation facts and figures for ... [Gov. Docs. Michigan Docs. Collection MI DOC HW T772: 54-] Annual.

Facts and Figures courtesy of the Michigan Department of Transportation.

Information on a variety of topics for most modes of transportation can be found here. For instance, a section entitled "Finance" provides statistics on Federal Funds for State Highways and Public Transportation.

1990 Census Transportation Planning Package. MI, OH [Gov. Docs. CD-ROMS TD1.56/2:BTS-CD-02-05]

"Special tabulations of place-of-work and transportation data produced in cooperation with the American association of State Highway and Transportation Officials."



Caveat

Although this guide consists primarily of State of Michigan Documents, there must be an awareness of other statistical sources. Sources from the Federal Government, IGOs and private organizations should be consulted when appropriate.

 


MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
East Lansing, Michigan 48824-1048

MSU is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Institution


Michigan State University Libraries
URL: http://www.lib.msu.edu/publ_ser/docs/
Last updated: August 18, 2005 Jill Abood
Send mail to page editor