MSU Library Logo

FINDING PUBLIC OPINION RESULTS FROM...

Polls?

Surveys?

"It might be pointed out that this scientific tool, like all others, is in itself neutral and can be used for good or evil according to one's own definition and purposes."

--Hadley Cantrill (1950)

The Sources

A. Published

Only a fraction is published and even a smaller fraction still is easily attainable. For example, when you see in the paper according to "a Gallup Poll published last week" it is not guaranteed that you will be able to find the poll in one of our services.
Also, many marketing-type polls/surveys are prohibitively expensive and therefore in effect not available.

  1. The Gallup Organization
    A. Gallup Poll: Public Opinion 1935-irreg
    • Annual compilation, includes results, questions asked and indexing.

    B. Gallup on Citrix 1935-1997
    • Search or Browse
    • Find: results, questions asked (sometimes broken down by gender, race, etc.)
    • This is the compilation of the annual volumes

    C. Tuesday Briefing 2002-
    AKA=[Gallup Poll Monthly 1989-2002]; [Gallup Report, 1981-1989];[Gallup Opinion Index, 1967-1981];
    [Gallup Political Index, 1965-1966]
    • This monthly magazine highlights Gallup surveys. Includes analysis/commentary, results and questions asked.

    D. Gallup Poll [Reports] 1965-
    AKA=[Gallup News Service]
    • Analysis/commentary in a press release format. I cannot find indexing anywhere.

  2. Harris and Associates
    A. Harris Poll 1988- [Harris Survey, 1981-1987]

  3. National Opinion Research Center (NORC
    A. The General Social Survey

  4. Public Opinion, 1935-1946
    A. Arranged by topics, this work pulls together U.S. and foreign polls. Question, responses and survey organization is presented.

B. Indices--The usual suspects

  1. Index to International Public Opinion (1978-1999)

  2. American Public Opinion Index (1981-1999)
    • Polling the Nations, 1986-
      Sort of the electronic equivalent to APOI, as it now includes many international sources
    • Includes results, methodology, sample size and source
      1981-1986 National results from APOI can be found in the companion microfiche set, American Public Opinion Data

C. Indices/Databases--Scholarly literature & newspapers (a select list)

  1. Sociological Abstracts
  2. Lexis-Nexis Academic
  3. International Bibliography of Social Sciences
  4. ProQuest
  5. PAIS
    For all of the indices try subjects like "Public Opinion," "Public Opinion Polls," "Social Surveys," "Attitudes towards..."

D. Indices/Databases--out of the norm

  1. Lexis-Nexis Academic
    The astute notice this listed above. There is a specific area within this database for polls and surveys. Go to "Reference" and then to "Polls and Surveys."
    • Searches the Roper Centers' database of question level surveys and polls
    • Multi-company (Gallup, Harris, CNN, NYTimes, etc.) search retrieves results, question asked, source, methodology, sample size, etc.

  2. Lexis-Nexis Statistical
    Search for subject "public opinion" We have most of these in fiche.
    • this may be the best place to locate business related public opinion results

  3. Roper Center
    Why list this here if L/N searches its database?
    • There are other databases like the Japanese Survey Data and the Latin American Survey Data that are not included on L/N.
    • Through the SSDA, researchers can retrieve raw data from surveys. The SSDA coordinator must request the data and it will be
      FTP'd to MSU. Requires a statistical package to manipulate the data.

  4. ICPSR
    Find raw data here, as well. MSU has IP authenticated access to this site. Requires a statistical package to manipulate found data.

E. Michigan specific Sources

  1. MSU's State of the State Survey
    • Quarterly surveys on issues of political participation, elections, and quality of life issues. The data can be easily manipulated online.

  2. EPIC/MRA
    • Local polling/survey company that receives a lot of attention from the media. Check out the Lansing State Journal for results from their polling.
      This is a perfect example how we find very little of the total volume of surveys and polls.

What we didn't cover

There is a rich and growing literature on survey/polling methodology. For example, why did they get it wrong in 1948? Remember DEWEY BEATS TRUMAN?


Michigan State University
Shawn W. Nicholson
http://www.lib.msu/nicho147
nicho147@mail.lib.msu.edu