Social Work Resources
grnmg2.gif - 10.1 K
Social Work Resources
in the
Michigan State University Libraries
and on the
World Wide Web

This webguide is designed to assist MSU students, faculty and staff in identifying research materials located in the MSU Libraries and on the World Wide Web. It is not intended to be comprehensive, but rather a starting point for further research. The resources listed below are but a small sampling of materials available in the MSU Libraries and on the Internet. Always consult a Librarian if you have questions or need assistance.
MSU Indexes Electronic Journals Magic Online Catalog WWW Resources for Social Work Data Sets at MSU and Elsewhere The Law



SOCIAL WORK INDEXES at MSU

Social Work Databases
A list of databases from which to search for citations to articles in journals, newspapers and other sources. Due to the nature of Social Work research please check the Databases Arranged Alphabetically by Title section for other indexes that are not listed above but may be relevant to a particular topic area. For example, social policy issues may also be searched in Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS).

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

Electronic Journals
This is a list of full text journals available from the Electronic Resources in Social Work page. Please check the complete list of Full Text Electronic Journals for relevant titles not found under the Social Work rubric. *Note: many titles require some type of MSU identification for viewing remotely.

The library subscribes to hundreds of other Social Work Journals. They can be found by searching Magic, the online catalog.

MAGIC ONLINE CATALOG

Magic Online Catalog
Search for books, journal titles, government documents, videos, etc. located at the MSU Libraries.

WWW RESOURCES

MSU School of Social Work
This site contains information about the School of Social Work at MSU and local, national and international social work issues.

Social Issues & Social Services from Michigan Electronic Library
"The Social Issues and Social Services collection aims to provide educational, informational and networking resources which are useful to Michigan citizens and organizations in their daily life and work."

SWAN--Social Work Access Network
A mega site of information for and about Social Workers and anyone interested in the Social Sciences. Furthermore, "SWAN 1999 is still dedicated to promoting technology as an instructional enhancement tool across the social work curriculum. In other words, we provide help to students, faculty and professionals who use the web for work."

information for practice
From the publisher..." free, resource for social service professionals that is updated daily. The focus is on: professionally relevant stories in the world’s news outlets; new articles in scholarly journals; and new resources appearing in the grey literature (e.g., scientific and technical reports primarily from governments and organizations). The goal of this service is to provide social service professionals with easier access to high quality information that can be used to improve their practice."

The Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
This nonpartisan group monitors and analyzes government policies affecting low income people. Full text of their reports, including an archive back to 1996 are included here.

Children's Defense Fund
A website devoted to promoting their mission of educating the public about issues confronting children. Contains many reports about parenting and childrens issues. One publication of particular note is the "Children in the States" data book. This document supplements federal government data to portray various aspects of children's well-being: health and health care, educational achievement, economic status, family structure, and others.

Knowledge Exchange Network (KEN)
The Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) Knowledge Exchange Network (KEN) provides information about mental health for users of mental health services and their families, the general public, policy makers, providers, and the media.

LD Online
Provides much information on the various types of learning disabilities. Its audience is parents, teachers and children. The site succeeds in reaching all of these segments plus offers valuable material for the researcher.

The National Center on Sleep Disorders Research (NCSDR)
"The Center seeks to fulfill its goal of improving the health of Americans by serving four key functions: research, training, technology transfer, and coordination."

The HIV/AIDS Treatment Information Service (ATIS)
ATIS provides information about federally-approved treatment guidelines for HIV and AIDS. This site is useful for the practitioner and the general researcher.

DATA

Social Science Data Archive (SSDA) at MSU
The social science data archive is managed by the Program in Public Opinion and Political Participation in the Department of Political Science, and it is the repository and reference center at MSU for machine-readable data sources in the social sciences.

ICPSR
Established in 1962, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The data holdings cover a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. There are some public domain files available, however, most must be downloaded by the ICPSR representative on campus.

American FactFinder
American FactFinder is a new data access and dissemination system that provides useful facts and information about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.

Social Science & Government Data Library at UC-Berkley
Offers some quick tables from Subject Summary Tape Files (SSTF)--1,2,3 and 5.

FedStats
"More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use."

Population Reference Bureau
Gives you instant summaries in graphics and text of the demographic characteristics of the U.S. population.

Data Search at University of California San Diego
Browse or Search over 700 Internet sites of social science statistical data catalogs, data libraries and social science gateways.

THE LAW

GPO Access Gateway
Provides full text of Court Cases, Bills, Laws, and Regulations of the Federal Government.

THOMAS--Legislative Information on the Internet
A very user friendly interface for searching for Federal level laws. You may find among other things the summary of a bill or its status, Public Laws or votes of either house of Congress at this site.

Michigan Legislative Information Web Server
Provides access to full text of Michigan's Compiled Laws as well as full text of bills.

Michigan Administrative Code
The WebPage contains an up-to-date, on-line version of the Michigan Administrative Code. As you will see, the Code is arranged with both numeric and departmental indices to make it easier and more efficient to use.

The ABA Center on Children and the Law
"Established in 1978, the ABA Center on Children and the Law's mission is to improve children's lives through advances in law, justice, knowledge, practice, and public policy." Some of the Center's concerns include: Researching and disseminating information on laws, policies, and practices affecting children and families and Educating nonattorneys on child-related law and its impact on their work.

Law and Related Resources
This extensive list of law related resources at MSU and on the WWW assembled by Jon Harrison covers not only Federal and State of Michigan sources, but other states and International law as well. There are two good links on Conducting Legal Research on the Web.


Michigan State University Libraries
Last updated: 2/14/00
Send mail to page editor


Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan, 48824
MSU is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Institution