Finding Statistics--A Primer
Need more help, ask at the Library
This guide provides a decision tree of sorts for statistics. First, let us define statistics. Statistics are manipulated data--Data on its own has no meaning, only when interpreted by some kind processing does it take on meaning. Statistics, therefore, are summaries or extrapolations of data.
With these questions in mind, try the following sources.
BASIC STATISTICAL SOURCES
- Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878-present
- This source provides a tremendous amount of statistics for many different geographies and periods. The statistics are drawn from decennial census (every 10 years), economic census (every 5 years) and a whole host of other survey programs. It is this last fact that makes it necessary to take advantage of the wonderfully detailed footnotes/citations to the tables. These will often lead to fuller information. Print versions back to 1879 can also be found in the library at C 3.134
- Historical Statistics of the United States
- Similar to the broad coverage of the Statistical Abstract (mentioned above), yet with longer time series coverage. Check back soon for an online version.
-
Statistical Universe
- "Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international
organizations, and professional associations. [It is the
WWW version of 3 print indexing sources: American
Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference Index (SRI).] Links to selected full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. The Library owns almost all the
materials indexed in Statistical Universe."
- Bureau of the Census' American FactFinder
- Census’ one-stop shop for statistics from a variety of survey programs, most notably the 1990 and 2000 decennial (every 10 years) censuses. The decennial census program provides a wonderfully rich set of statistics for political (state, county, city) and statistical (tract, block, etc.) boundaries.
Finding statistics in books...
Using the subject field of Magic, the online catalog it is possible to find books dealing with specific topical areas in statistics.
Try subjects such as:
- Michigan--Statistics
- Nigeria -- Statistics
Research Guides
United States Government Statistical Sources
in Print and on the WWW
This guide points to print and electronic statistical sources from the US Federal Government. The statistics are not just about the federal government, however. Rather, the Federal Government disseminates statistics for nearly all geographic levels (states, counties, other foreign governments, for example).
Sources for International Statistics
This guide is intended to point users to the commonly used statistical sources from a variety of sources, both print and electronic.
Sources for State of Michigan Statistics
This guide provides sources of statistics arranged by broad subject area for the state and its political boundaries. For example, you can find health statistics for the state as a whole, but also for counties and cities as well.