NUMERIC DATA
Data and Statistics at MSU and on the WWW


The MSU Libraries maintains subscriptions to numerous statistical publications and data sets. Try Magic, the online catalog or the Electronic Resources category, Numeric Data

OTHER CAMPUS HELP

Data Coordinating Center
Working with Colleges of Human Medicine, Natural Sciences, Nursing, Osteopathic Medicine, and Veterinary Medicine the center provides consulting assistance throughout your research project from data collection and management to interpreting your results. This is a fee-based service.

Education Policy Center
Research Analyst brings years of experience helping people find the statistical and demographic information they need for their communities or projects.

Institute for Public Policy and Social Research
The Institute offers help to individuals and groups through its Office of Survey Research. There is also online data access to its State of the State Survey

Statistical Consulting Service
Provides consulting assistance throughout your research project from data collection and management to interpreting your results.

GENERAL DATA SOURCES--INDEXES AND COMPENDIA

Statistical Abstract of the United States
"As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations." The most recent four years are present at this site.

Michigan Statistical Abstract (paper only)
Floor 1 East: HA441.M53
This should be a first stop for any statistical question concerning the state of Michigan or any of its smaller political boundaries (i.e.counties, cities, and townships). The Abstract does a decent job of citing original sources so more detailed data or fuller description of a table may be found.

Statistical Universe
Indexes and abstracts the statistical publications of the U.S. government, state governments, international intergovernmental organizations, trade and professional associations.
There is a Power Point training guide available. You will need to right click you mouse and download the link to your machine to read the slides.

Data on the Net
Browse or Search over 700 Internet sites of social science statistical data catalogs, data libraries and social science gateways.

Google
Use this or other search engines wisely.

DATA ARCHIVES

MSU Social Science Data Archive
The social science data archive is managed by the Program in Public Opinion and Political Participation in the Department of Political Science, and it is the repository and reference center at MSU for machine-readable data sources in the social sciences.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research(ICPSR)
The data holdings cover a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

American Religion Data Archive
The American Religion Data Archive collects quantitative data sets for the study of American religion.

A FEW GOVERMENT DATA SOURCES

US Census Bureau
The Census Bureau has a collection of 65,000 online statistical documents on this site. Data include population, economic and business statistics. This is the starting point for many data related queries.

1990 Census Lookup
Choose a database and select variables from Summary Tape Files (1A, 1C, 3A and 3B). Data is available to the Block Group level.

Michigan Community Health Information
Data relative to population, births, deaths, fetal deaths, marriages, divorces and communicable diseases are included.

American Fact Finder
"American FactFinder is a new data access and dissemination system that provides useful facts and information about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets." Data and mapping is available to the Block Group level.

FirstGov
Use this search engine to search for Federal Government Agencies. Many agencies have "put up" data files.

Michigan State University
Shawn W. Nicholson
http://www.lib.msu/nicho147
nicho147@mail.lib.msu.edu
Last updated 1/29/03