|
|
The following
are a selection of online and print college and university guides and
resources. This is just a sample of the many resources available in the
MSU Libraries.
The items
listed as being in College Guides cannot be checked out. The items
listed as being in Closed Reference may be requested at the Main
Library Reference Desk (1 East) and used within the Main Library.
College Listings
General
College Guides and Selection Aids
- CollegeSource®
Online
Through CollegeSource® Online, users may search and view current
college catalogs from both public and private two-year, four-year, and
graduate schools, from more than 4,200 institutions. Users may also
search for college profiles and catalogs based on majors/degrees, tuition,
geographic location (country, state, proximity to a certain city), enrollment,
and affiliations. There is also an alphabetical listing of all colleges
and universities by institution name.
- CollegeBoard.com
Offers quick access to colleges by name or keyword search. Through the
"College MatchMaker," colleges can also be searched according
to type of school, location, campus life, activities and sports, admission,
cost and financial aid, and application deadlines. Searches and colleges
recently viewed can be saved to a personalized listing by registering
for a free collegeboard.com account.
- College
Blue Book, 6 volume set
Location: College Guides (1 East), LA 726.C6856
- College
Board Book of Majors
Location: Closed Reference (1 East), L901 .I525 ed.1 2005
- Hobson's
CollegeView®
Hobson's
"College Search" offers access to profiles of more than 3,800
colleges and universities throughout the U.S. and Canada. Schools and
universities can be searched by a variety of criteria. The search feature
is very easy to navigate and multiple criteria selections can be searched
at once, including more than one major or area of study. School profiles
include links to key facts, an information request form, printable application,
and campus tour (if available).
- International
Handbook of Universities
Location: Closed Reference (1 East), LB 2310 .I5)
- Peterson's
Education Portal
Offers numerous links and resources for prospective undergraduates,
graduates, and adult learners.
Prospective undergraduates may search for colleges according to various
criteria using The "College Bound" section. The "Graduate
Bound" section allows users to explore graduate schools and programs
by name or keyword, test preparation links, financial aid/loan resources,
and tips for writing personal statements and essays. The "Adult
Learners" section targets non-traditional students who may search
for distance learning programs by area of study, degrees awarded, name
of school, keyword, and on-campus requirements (if any).
- Peterson's
4-Year Colleges
Location: Closed Reference (1 East), L 901 .A554
- Peterson's
2-Year Colleges
Location: Closed Reference (1 East), L 901 .A555
- The
Princeton Review
Search for colleges according to preferences such as specific majors
or fields of study; religious affiliation; location; size; student body
characteristics; cost of tuition; financial aid available; and availability
of music, sports, or fraternities/sororities. An advanced search engine,
the "Counselor-O-Matic," also allows users to search for colleges
matching their previous academic and extracurricular characteristics
to their future academic and college preferences. Also offers extensive
resources on graduate schools, including specific business, law, and
medical schools.
- U.S.
News.com Rankings & Guides
Provides a variety of the highly popular U.S. News and World Report
college rankings, but also offers many additional free and subscription-based
online college guidance resources, including a detailed school directory,
containing key statistics on more than 1,800 colleges and universities
in the U.S. and Canada; and a college search feature allowing prospective
students to search for schools based upon selected criteria.
Specific
Program and Graduate School Guides
- Peterson's
Annual Guides/Graduate Study in... (various fields)..., 6 volume
set
Location: Closed Reference (1 East), LB 2371 .A52
- GradSchools.com
A searchable comprehensive directory of graduate programs worldwide
including program descriptions.
- Graduate
Medical Education Directory
Location: Closed Reference (1 East), R 712 .A1 D52
- Which
MBA? Critical Guide to the World's Best MBAs
Location: College Guides (1 East), HF 1111 .B53
College
Application and Admissions Guides
- Insider's
Guide to College Admissions
Location: College Guides (1 East), LB 2351.2 .H38
- Real
Essays for College and Grad School
Location: College Guides (1 East), LB 2351.52 .U6 R43
- How
to Write a Winning College Application Essay
Location: College Guides (1 East), LB 2351.5 .M37
College
Rankings
- Educational
Rankings Annual
Location: Closed Reference (1 East), LB 2331. G3 .E34
- America's
Best Colleges 2005 (U.S. News & World Report)
Online version of selected U.S. News & World Report's college rankings.
Complete rankings available via subscription.
- America's
Best Graduate Schools 2005 (U.S. News & World Report)
Online version of selected U.S. News & World Report's college rankings.
Complete rankings available via subscription.
- College
and University Rankings
Maintained by the Education and Social Science Library of the University
of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this site brings together numerous
print and online resources for locating college and university rankings.
Also provides very good cautionary information about the usefulness
of college rankings.
Distance
and Career Education Programs
- Bear's
Guide to Earning Degrees by Distance Learning
Location: College Guides (1 East), LB 2381 .B4
- Campus-Free
College Degrees
Location: College Guides (1 East), LC 6251 .C33
- ClassesUSA
An easy-to-use, good starting point for those interested in browsing
online continuing and distance education programs. It provides access
to continuing education classes, online degree programs, graduate and
post-graduate degrees, corporate training, professional certifications,
and much more.
- The
College Blue Book - Distance Learning Programs
Location: College Guides (1 East), LC5805 .D573 ed.32 2005
- Distance.GradSchools.com
A comprehensive and searchable directory of online graduate programs
in the U.S. and throughout the world.
- Peterson's
Guide to Distance Learning Programs
Location: College Guides (1 East), LC 5805. P48
- Peterson's
Career College Foundation
An excellent resource for those looking for private and post-secondary
schools, institutes, colleges, and universities that offer career-specific
educational programs.
Return
to Top
|