The WWW can entangle you. Try the following to search for topics in French studies.http://www.yahoo.com/Regional/Countries/France/Arts_and_Humanities/Historyhttp://www.yahoo.com/Regional/Countries/France/Arts_and_Humanities/Literature
History On-Line, http://ihr.sas.ac.uk/search, indexes recently published books and articles, and notes theses done in the U.K. There is a directory of U.K. history professors and a list of seminars and conferences held at the Institute for Historical Research. Use Classification Search to search by subject.
eBlast, a Guide to the Web's Top Sites, by the Encyclopedia Britannica: http://www.eblast.com
WESSWeb, maintained by the ALA/ACRL's Western European Studies Section provides information on Great Britain and Ireland, French Studies, and Medieval and Renaissance Studies. The URL is: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/
http://www.rre.casalini.com/ has Reference Reviews Europe Online, a current bibliography of citations with abstracts to newly published reference works in the humanities and social sciences relative to European countries.
http://www.lib.msu.edu/digital/SpecialResources
This is a digitized version of a book published in 1983 by the M.S.U.
Libraries. It was compiled by Peter Trumbull and Robert E. Runser, bibliographers,
called Special Resources in Microformat in the Michigan State University
Libraries. It is arranged by main entry and also shows titles of some sets
owned by CRL (Center for Research Libraries). No call numbers are provided.
Check MAGIC, the M.S.U. Libraries' online catalog to find call numbers
and/or consult the Libraries' web page to find the name of the subject
specialist here in your subject area for research assistance.
ViVa: a Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals http://www.iisg.nl/~womhist/vivahome.html is a current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history compiled at the International Institute of Social History. Over 5200 articles from 114 European, American, and Indian journals published 1975-2000 are indexed.
I maintain a card file of interesting, and potentially useful, WWW site addresses in my office if you would like to look through it.