VIET NAM WAR/SECOND INDOCHINA WAR

BIBLIOGRAPHIC SOURCES

 

Last updated : May 12, 2006  Page Editor: Michael Unsworth


General | Vietnam

General

Aimone, Alan Conrad. Bibliography of Military History: A Expanded and Selected Annotated Listing of Sources with Military History Bibliographies. 4th ed. West Point, N.Y.: United States Military Academy, 1982. CONREFD 25 .M553 1987 Includes periodical articles, books, government studies, etc. Emphasizes U.S. military history, though other areas and historical periods are covered. Author/title index

Beede, Benjamin R. Intervention and Counterinsurgency: An Annotated Bibliography of the Small Wars of the United States, 1898-1984. (Wars of the United States ; vol. 5) N.Y.: Garland Pub., 1985. CONREF E 745 .B43 1985

Burns, Richard Dean. Guide to American Foreign Relations Since 1700. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, 1983. REF E 183.7 .G83 1983

Davis, Lenwood G. Blacks in the American Armed Forces, 1776-1983: A Bibliography. N.Y.: Greenwood Press, 1985. MAIN Z 1249.M5D38 1985

Higham, Robin. A Guide to the Sources of United States Military History. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, 1975.With supplements.MAIN Z 1249 .M5 G83 1975

Jessup, John E., Jr. and Robert W. Coakley. A Guide to the Study and Use of Military History. Washington, D.C.: Center of Military History, U.S. Army, 1979. DOC D114.2: St9 Designed to explain the uses of military history and the resources available for its study. Includes annotated listings of reference works and historical periodicals. Author/title/subject index.

Kinnell, Susan K. Military History of the United States: An Annotated Bibliography. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1986. CONREF E 181 .M55 M5 1986 A selective listing of articles and book reviews that were published in scholarly journals between 1974 and 1985. The information was retrieved from the America, History and Life database.

Lane, Jack C. America's Military Past: A Guide to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1980. MAIN Z 1249 .M5 L36

Skidmore, Gail. From Radical Left to Extreme Right: A Bibliography of Current Periodicals of Protest, Controversy, Advocacy, or Dissent... 3rd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987. SPECIAL Z 7165 .U5 1987

Slonaker, John. The US Army and the Negro. Carlisle Barracks, Pa.: U.S. Army Military History Institute, 1971. DOCS D114.14: 2

Vietnam War Study Guide (using books) -- "This page is a study guide for those interested in learning about the Vietnam War, using the best resource available: books. This guide is designed so that readers of any interest level can pick a prioritized list of books which will give them the most information for whatever effort they wish to make. An unusual and desirable feature are word counts and estimated study time for each book, the only good way to measure study workload. Also included are some fascinating author interviews from Booknotes."

U.S. Air Force Academy. Library. Special Bibliography Series. Colorado Springs, Colo.: USAFA, 1957- . DOCS D305.12: Highly selective bibliographies used in conjunction with AFA courses and symposiums.

U.S. Army Military History Institute. Special Bibliography Series, no. 1-. Carlisle Barracks, Pa.: U.S. Army Military Research Collection, 1970- .DOCS D114.14: Subjects vary; check the Documents shelflist for topics covered.

U.S. Superintendent of Documents. Military History. (Subject Bibliography ; 98) Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office. GD I/R GP3.22/2: 98 A subject bibliography of materials currently offered by the Government Printing Office. Classification numbers included. Updated irregularly.

Unsworth, Michael E. Military Periodicals: United States and Selected International Journals and Newspapers. N.Y.: Greenwood Press, 1990. REF U 104 .U5 1990 Descriptive narratives of approximately 120 important military periodicals as well as a history of service journalism in the U.S.

Vietnam

Brune, Lester H. American and the Indochina Wars, 1945-1990: A Bibliographical Guide. Claremont, Calif.: Regina Books, 1992. CONREF DS 550 .B87 1992

Burns, Richard Dean. The Wars in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos, 1945-1982: A Bibliographic Guide. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, 1984. REF Z 3228 .V5 B87 1984

Camp, Norman H. Stress, Strain, and Vietnam: An Annotated Bibliography of Two Decades of Psychiatric and Social Sciences Literature Reflecting the Effect of the War on the American Soldier. New York : Greenwood Press, 1988.MAIN DS 559.8 .P7 Z9 C3 1988

Chen, John. Vietnam: A Comprehensive Bibliography. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1973. MAIN Z 3228 .V5 C47

Cotter, Michael. Vietnam: A Guide to Reference Sources. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1977. CONREFZ 3228 .V5 C68

Hillstrom, Kevin. The Vietnam experience : a concise encyclopedia of American literature, songs, and films. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998. REF DS557.73 .H55 1998

Indochina Curriculum Group. The Vietnam Era: A Guide to Teaching Resources. Cambridge, Mass.: ICG, 1978. MAIN Z 6208 .V5 I42

Leitenberg, Milton. The Vietnam Conflict: Its Geographical Dimensions, Political Traumas, & Military Developments. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, 1973. MAIN Z 3228 .V5 L44

Library of Congress. Vietnamese Holdings in the Library of Congress: A Bibliography. Washington: Library of Congress, 1982. MAIN DS 556.3 .L5 1982

Lopez, Ken. Vietnam War Literature: A Catalog. Hadley, Mass.: K. Lopez, 1990. SPECIAL DS 557.7 .L68 1990

Lopez, Ken. Vietnam War Literature: A Supplement: Including the Best 25 Vietnam War Books. Hadley, Mass.: K. Lopez, 1991. SPECIAL DS 557.7 .L682 1991

Marolda, Edward J. A Bibliography of the United States Navy and the Conflict in Southeast Asia, 1950-1975. Washington, D.C.: Contemporary History Branch, Naval Historical Center, 1991. CONREF DS 557 .A6 M38 1991

Moïse, Edwin E. Vietnam War Bibliography (Internet resource)

Olson, James Stuart. The Vietnam War: Handbook of the Literature and Research. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press, 1993. CONREF DS 558 .V58 1993

Peake, Louis A. The United States in the Vietnam War: A Selected Annotated Bibliography. N.Y.: Garland, 1986. CONREF DS 558.P43 1986

Smith, Myron J. Air War, Southeast Asia, 1961-1972: An Annotated Bibliography... Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow,1979. MAIN Z 3228 .V5 S63

Spector, Ronald H. Researching the Vietnam Experience. Washington, D.C.: Analysis Branch, U.S. Army Center of Military History, 1984. CONREF DS 557 .S69 1984 Updated by "'In the Nam' and 'Back in the World': American and Vietnamese Sources on the Vietnam War," Journal of American History 75 (June 1988): 209-214.

Sugnet, Christopher L. Vietnam War Bibliography: Selected From Cornell University's Echols Collection. Lexington, Mass.: Lexington Books, 1983. MAIN Z 3226 .S9 1983

Those Who Were There: Eyewitness Accounts of the War in Southeast Asia, 1956-1975 & aftermath: Annotated Bibliography... Paradise, Calif.: DustBooks, 1984. CONREF & MAIN Z 3228 .V5 T46 1984

U.S. Army Library. Peninsular Southeast Asia: A Bibliographic Survey of Literature. Washington, D.C.: Headquarters, Dept. of the Army, 1972. DOCS D101.22: 550-14.

Vietnam War: Teaching Approaches and Resources. N.Y.: Greenwood Press, 1991. MAIN DS 557.74 .V54 1991

Vietnam, 1964-1973: An American Dilemma. Colorado Springs, Colo.: U.S. Air Force Academy Library, 1990. DOCS D 305.12:80

Vietnam War Bibliography -- produced by Prof. Edwin E. Moïse of Clemson University

Vietnam War Bibliography -- produeced by Prof. Richard Jensen of University of Illinois of Chicago

Vietnam Literature -- sales list from Tavistock Books

 

LIBRARY LOCATION CODES

ARCHIVES MSU University Archives and Historical Collections, Conrad Hall

AUDIO

Audio-Visual Library, 4th Floor, West Wing

BIO

Biography Tools, 1st Floor, East Wing

BUS Business Library, 50 Law College Building

CLREF

Closed Reference, 1st Floor, East Wing

CONREF

Separate temporary Location at Reference Collection, 1st Floor, East Wing

DOCS

Government Documents, Third Floor, West Wing

FICHE

Microfiche Collection, Microforms Library, 2nd

FILM

Microfilm Collection, Microforms Library, 2nd Floor, West Wing

FA Fine Arts Library, 4th Floor, West Wing

GD I/R

Government Documents Index/Reference, 1st Floor, East Wing

LAW Law Library, 106 Law College Building

MAIN

General Collection in the Main Library

MICGUIDE

Microforms Guides, 2nd Floor, West Wing

OVERSIZED

Oversized-Book Collection, 3rd Floor, West Wing

REF

Reference Collection, 1st Floor, East Wing

SOFTWARE

Software Collection, Audio-Visual Library, 4th Floor, West Wing

SPECIAL

Special Collections, Basement, East Wing


 Michigan State University Libraries
Michael Unsworth
URL:
http://www.lib.msu.edu/unsworth/
Page editor:
unsworth@mail.lib.msu.edu


Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan, 48824
MSU is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Institution