Downloading citations into Endnote

Instructions for bibliographic databases at MSU Libraries

(For further instructions on using the Endnote program and formatting papers, see another MSU instruction guide-pdf or the brief instructions at the end of this page)

There are three ways to build an Endnote library:

  1. Import citations from a bibliographic database like Web of Science. (Some databases have a direct Export button. Others do not, and you must save your results as a file and import the data using Endnote filters.)
  2. Connect online to a bibliographic database and search it while in Endnote. (will not work for most databases MSU subscribes to).
  3. Manually enter citations into an Endnote library.

Directions for different bibliographic databases:

1. Cambridge Scientific Abstracts databases
2. Compendex (Engineering Village)
3. EBSCO databases
4. First Search (OCLC) databases
5. Gale databases
6. HighWire Press
7. IEEE Periodicals
8. ISI databases
9. JSTOR
10. MSU library catalog
11. Ovid/SP databases
12. ProQuest databases
13. PubMed
14. Science Direct
15. SciFinder Scholar
16. Springer journals

Note: If you have an older version of Endnote, you may find downloading (importing/exporting) not to work properly for some databases. The Endnote Web site (Support and Services section ) provides updated import filters you can download for free to fix many of these problems.

1. Cambridge Scientific Abstracts databases (save results and import):

(Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), EconLit, ERIC, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, MLA International Bibliography, PAIS, Paperbase/PIRA, Philosopher's Index, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Ceramics Abstracts)

1. Mark the citations you want to keep and click on "Save/print/email"
2. Once you get to the next page, choose the records to save, choose full format, and choose the document format "text".
3. Click on Save and save the citations as a text file (.txt) on your computer.
4. Go into the Endnote program and open the library where you want to save these citations
5. Go under File and choose "import"
6. Click on "choose file" and find the .txt file you saved on your computer.
7. Choose the import option for your particular database (if you don't see it immediately, choose "other filters" under "import option" and look for it. Choose the name of the database plus (CSA) after it for "Cambridge Scientific Abstracts")
8. Click on import

2. Compendex (Engineering Village) (direct export):

1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "download" at the top.
2. Choose RIS/Endnote format and click on "download" again.
3. If the computer asks you if you want to open or save, choose open.
4. Endnote will open asking you which library to save the citations in.

3. EBSCO databases (direct export):

(CINAHL, International Political Science Abstracts, Social Work Abstracts, Sport Discus)

1. Click "Add to folder" at the icon near citations that you want to keep.
2. To look at all saved items, click on the Folder icon at the top of the page.
3. In the folder, select the items to send to Endnote (or Select All) and click on the Export icon (page with green arrow).
4. The next page will be the Export Manager page. Choose the "Direct Export to Endnote" button and click on save.
5. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose open.
6. Endnote will open asking you to choose a library in which to save citations.

4. First Search (OCLC) databases (direct export):

(Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (ASTA), Art Abstracts, Education Abstracts, ERIC, Geobase, Humanities Abstracts, Library Literature, Social Sciences Abstracts, Wilson Select Plus, WorldCat)

1. Mark the citations you want to keep and click on "Export"
2. Choose which records you want to export and choose the Endnote option.
3. Click on "Export" button.
4. If the computer asks you if you want to open or save, choose open.
5. You will be asked to pick an import filter: choose the filter for the database you were searching plus (OCLC) after it for "OCLC First Search".
6. Click on import.

5. Gale Databases (direct export)

(Note: direct exporting from Gale Databases does not work very well for book or book chapter/section citations. You may find you will need to make many manual changes and additions to information downloaded.)

1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "marked items " at top of page.
2. At your page of marked documents, click on "citation tools" on the left hand side.
3. At the next screen choose to export to Endnote.
4. If the computer asks you if you want to open or save, choose open.

6. HighWire Press (direct export)

1. Mark citations you want to keep and choose "get all checked abstracts " at bottom of page.
2. At the next page, choose "download all selected citations to citation manager".
3. Choose "Endnote" on the next page and you'll be asked to choose a library to save in.

7. IEEE Periodicals Package (direct export)

1. After doing a search, go to the abstract (not PDF) of the article you want.
2. Under "download this citation" at the left hand side of the page, choose citation + abstract and "Endnote".
3. Click download.
4. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose open.

8. ISI Databases (direct export):

(Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, Medline, Web of Science, Zoological Abstracts)

1. Mark the citations that you want to keep. At the top of your results, choose "add to marked list".
2. Click on "marked list" at the very top of the page to view your list.
3. Under Step 1, check the additional fields that you want to appear in your Endnote library (eg. Abstract)
4. Under Step 2, click on "Save to Endnote or other Reference Software "
5. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose open.

9. JSTOR (save results and import):

1. You will first need to register for a free MyJSTOR account.
2. After a seach, mark the citations you want to keep and click on the link to "save citations."
3. To see the saved citations, click on MyJSTOR and the "saved citations" tab.
4. When you are at your list of citations, select the ones you want to export or select all. Then, click on "export citations".
5. At the next window choose the Endnote option for export. .
6. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose open.

10. MSU Library Catalog (connect online):

1. Go to Endnote and choose the "Tools" menu.
2. Choose "Online Search"
3. You will be asked to pick a database connection file. Find and choose the one for the database you are using: Michigan St U
4. A search box will come up. Do your search as usual of author, keywords, etc.
5. Your search results will appear in your Endnote Library and be listed in a group under Online Search on the left hand side of your library's page. You will have to go through these and delete ones you don't want to keep.
.

11. Ovid/SP databases (direct export):

(Agricola, Allied and Complementary Alternative Medicine)

1. Mark citations you want to keep.
2. At the top of the page Results Manager, choose "selected results", "complete reference" (under fields), and "direct export" (under result format) and click save.
3. If a dialog box opens asking you to Open or Save, choose Open.

12. ProQuest databases (direct export or save results and import):

(ABI/Inform, Criminal Justice Periodicals, ProQuest Research Library)

Option 1: direct export

1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "Export" at the top of the page.
2. At the next window, choose "export directly to ProCite, Endnote, Reference Manager, and RefWorks".
3. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose open.

(Note: Using the Direct Export from ProQuest currently has a problem in that author names are imported in reverse order (first name as last name). You will have to fix these manually in your Endnote Library. Alternatively, use Option 2 to import citations correctly)

or Option 2: save results and import

1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "Export" at the top of the page.
2. At the next window, choose "Download in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager and RefWorks"
3. This will display your citations in a Web browser. Save this file to your computer.
4. Open your Endnote Library.
5. Go under file menu and choose "import"
6. A box will open asking you for information. Click on "choose file" and find your saved file of citations.
7. Choose the import option for ProQuest.
8. Click on import.

13. PubMed (save results and import or connect online):

Option 1: save results and import

1. Search in PubMed. Mark citations you want to keep and "send to" Clipboard
2. View Clipboard materials by clicking on "clipboard" at top
3. Change "display" to MEDLINE
4. Click on "send to" File. If the computer asks you if you want to open or save, choose save. It will save as a text file to your computer (.txt).
5. Go into the Endnote program and open the library where you want to save these citations
6. Go under "file" and choose "import"
7. Click on "choose file" and find the .txt file you saved.
8. Choose import option "PubMed NLM"
9. Click on import

or Option 2: connect to PubMed when in Endnote

1. Go to Endnote and choose the "Tools" menu.
2. Choose "Online Search"
3. You will be asked to pick a database connection file. Find and choose the one for the database you are using: PubMed (NLM)
4. A search box will come up. Do your search as usual of author, keywords, etc.
5. Your search results will appear in your Endnote Library and be listed in a group under Online Search on the left hand side of your library's page. You will have to go through these and delete ones you don't want to keep. .

14. Science Direct (direct export):

1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "export citations" at the top of the page.
2. Choose whether you want citations only or citation + abstract and export format RIS (for Endnote). Click Export.
3. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose open.


15. SciFinder Scholar--Web version (direct export):

1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "Export" at the top of the page.
2. At the dialog box, give the file a name. Choose "tagged format" as the file type and click "Export".
3. The next box will ask you if you want to open or save. Choose to open with Endnote (not with some other application like Notepad).
4. Anothe box will pop up asking you to choose an import cilter. Choose SciFinder from CAS and click "choose".

16. Springer Journals

1. When you are in a journal issue, mark the citations that you want to keep by clicking on "add to marked items".
2. Click on list of marked items under My Menu on the left hand side of the page.
3. Click on the icon (paper with green arrow) for "download this list".
4. At the next page under Export the Citations, click on RIS.
5. A box will come up asking if you want to save or open the file. Choose to Open. In the dialog box, tell it to open with the Endnote program (rather than with notepad or some other program).

 



Brief Instructions for adding references to papers and creating bibliographies from Endnote:

Directions for Microsoft Word or Word Perfect

1. Keep Endnote and word processing program both open.
2. Start writing paper. When you want to add citations from your Endnote library, go to Endnote and select the citations you want. Hold down the control key (PC) to select more than one citation.
3. Go back to your paper, choose the "Tools" menu, and choose "insert selected citations"
4. Citations may format right away if you've chosen that preference or may be in unformatted form: {Bessey, 1915 #32} . If you don't like the formatting that's chosen, select "unformat citations".
5. At any time you can choose to format your bibliography. Choose an "output style" for your formatting by going the Edit menu in Endnote, choosing "output styles" and "open style manager". Check the box next to the style for the journal you want to use and close the box.
6. Go back to your paper, choose the "Tools" menu and choose "format bibliography". A box will come up asking you to pick a journal output style. Once you have chosen your style, click on OK and your bibliography will format. You can format and unformat at any time.

There are many more advanced things you can do in Endnote. In Endnote X2 and above, you can group citations together in folders to organize them. You can create new styles for output or change existing styles. You can also download some styles from Endnote's Web site at http://www.endnote.com/. You can manually add citations to your Endnote library, add new fields to your library entries, sort your library, etc. Please see the Endnote help manual or the help menu that comes with the program.


Page update: August 3, 2009
by Susan Kendall
Health Sciences Librarian
Michigan State University Libraries
http://www.lib.msu.edu/skendall/