Directions for different bibliographic
databases:
Note: If you have an older version of Endnote, you may find downloading (importing/exporting) not to work properly for some databases. The Endnote Web site (Support and Services section ) provides updated import filters you can download for free to fix many of these problems.
1. Cambridge Scientific
Abstracts databases (save results and import):
(Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), EconLit, ERIC, Linguistics and Language
Behavior Abstracts, MLA International Bibliography, PAIS, Paperbase/PIRA, Philosopher's Index, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Ceramics
Abstracts)
1. Mark the citations you want to keep and click on "Save/print/email"
2. Once you get to the next page, choose the records to save, choose
full format, and choose the document format "text".
3. Click on Save and save the citations as a text file (.txt) on your
computer.
4. Go into the Endnote program and open the library where you want
to save these citations
5. Go under File and choose "import"
6. Click on "choose file" and find the .txt file you saved
on your computer.
7. Choose the import option for your particular database (if you don't
see it immediately, choose "other filters" under "import
option" and look for it. Choose the name of the database plus (CSA)
after it for "Cambridge Scientific Abstracts")
8. Click on import
2. Compendex (Engineering
Village) (direct export):
1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "download"
at the top.
2. Choose RIS/Endnote format and click on "download" again.
3. If the computer asks you if you want to open or save, choose open.
4. Endnote will open asking you which library to save the citations
in.
3. EBSCO databases
(direct export):
(CINAHL, Social Work Abstracts, Sport Discus)
1. Click "Add" at the folder icon next to citations that you want to
keep.
2. To look at all saved items, click on the "Folder has items" icon at the top of
the page.
3. In the folder, choose the items to send to Endnote and click on Export.
4. The next page will be the Export Manager page. Choose the "Direct Export to Endnote" button and click on save.
5. The computer will ask you if you want to open or save: choose open.
6. Endnote will open asking you to choose a library in which to save citations.
4. First Search (OCLC)
databases (direct export):
(Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (ASTA), Art Abstracts,
Education Abstracts, ERIC, Geobase, Humanities Abstracts, Library Literature,
Social Sciences Abstracts, Wilson Select Plus, WorldCat)
1. Mark the citations you want to keep and click on "Export"
2. Choose which records you want to export and choose the Endnote option.
3. Click on "Export" button.
4. You will be asked to select an Endnote library and pick an import
filter: choose the option for your particular database (if you don't
see it immediately, choose "other filters" under "import
option" and look for it.) Choose the name of the database plus
(OCLC) after it for "OCLC First Search".
5. Click on import.
5. Gale Databases (direct
export)
(Note: direct exporting from Gale Databases does not work very well for book or book chapter/section citations. You may find you will need to make many manual changes and additions to information downloaded.)
1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "marked items " at top of page.
2. At your page of marked documents, click on "citation tools" on the left hand side.
3. At the next screen choose to export to Endnote. .
6. HighWire Press (direct
export)
1. Mark citations you want to keep and choose "get all checked
abstracts " at bottom of page.
2. At the next page, choose "download all selected citations to
citation manager".
3. Choose "Endnote" on the next page and you'll be asked to
choose a library to save in.
7. IEEE Periodicals Package
(direct export)
1. After doing a search, go to the abstract (not PDF) of the article
you want.
2. Under "download this citation" at the left hand side of
the page, choose citation + abstract and "download Endnote format".
3. Click download.
4. Endnote will open asking you which library to save in.
8. ISI
Databases (direct export):
(Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, Medline, Web of Science, Zoological Abstracts)
1. Mark the citations that you want to keep. At the top of your results,
choose "add to marked list".
2. Click on "marked list" at the very top of the page to view your
list.
3. Under Step 1, check the additional fields that you want to appear in your Endnote
library (eg. Abstract)
4. Under Step 2, click on "Save to Endnote or other Reference Software "
5. Endnote should open and you will choose the Library you want to add these citations to.
9. JSTOR (save results
and import):
1. Save citations and then click on "view saved citations"
on the right hand side of the page.
2. Choose to export citations "as a text file" in "citation
manager" format.
3. Click on "export", and if the computer asks you to open
or save, choose save.
4. You will be asked to choose a file name and save in text format (.txt).
5. Go into the Endnote program and open the library where you want to
save these citations
6. Go under file and choose "import"
7. Click on "choose file" and find the .txt file you saved
7. Choose the import option for your particular database (if you don't
see it immediately, choose "other filters" under "import
option" and look for it. This is the JSTOR filter you downloaded)
8. Click on import.
10. MSU Library Catalog
(connect):
The MSU Magic connection file must be downloaded from MSU's Web site
http://www.lib.msu.edu/endnote/
if you have Endnote 3, 4, 5, or 6. Later versions of Endnote come with the Michigan
St U filter already loaded.
1. Go to Endnote and choose the "Tools" menu.
2. Choose "Connect"
3. You will be asked to choose a connection file. Find and choose the
one for the database you are using: either Michigan St U or Magic (MSU)
4. Click on "Connect"
5. A search box will come up. Do your search as usual of author, keywords,
etc.
6. Your search results will appear within an Endnote box. Highlight
the references you want to keep, using the control key (Ctrl) to choose
more than one.
7. Click on "Copy # references to" and then choose your library.
11. Ovid/SP databases (direct
export):
(Agricola, Agris, Allied and Complementary Alternative Medicine, Food Science & Technology Abstracts, International Political Science Abstracts, Medline)
1. Mark citations you want to keep.
2. Under the left hand side Results Manager, choose "selected results", "complete reference" (under fields), and "direct export" (under result format)
and click save.
3. If a dialog box opens asking you to Open or Save, choose Open.
4. A box will open asking you to find and choose the Endnote Library to put references in.
12. ProQuest databases
(direct export):
(ABI/Inform, Criminal Justice Periodicals, ProQuest Research Library)
1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "Export"
at the top of the page.
3. At the next window, choose "export directly into Endnote".
4. Endnote will open asking you which library to save the citations
in.
13. PubMed (save results
and import or connect):
Option 1: save results and import
1. Search in PubMed. Mark citations you want to keep and "send
to" Clipboard
2. View Clipboard materials by clicking on "clipboard" at
top
3. Change "display" to MEDLINE
4. Click on "send to" File. If the computer asks you if you
want to open or save, choose save. It will save as a text file to your
computer (.txt).
5. Go into the Endnote program and open the library where you want to
save these citations
6. Go under "file" and choose "import"
7. Click on "choose file" and find the .txt file you saved.
8. Choose import option "PubMed NLM"
9. Click on import
or Option 2: connect to PubMed when in Endnote
1. Go to Endnote and choose the "Tools" menu.
2. Choose "Connect"
3. You will be asked to choose a connection file. Find and choose the
one for the database you are using: PubMed (NLM)
4. Click on "Connect"
5. A search box will come up. Do your search as usual of author, keywords,
etc.
6. Your search results will appear within an Endnote box. Highlight
the references you want to keep, using the Control key to choose more
than one.
7. Click on "Copy # references to" and then choose your library.
14. Science Direct (direct
export):
1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "export citations"
at the top of the page.
2. Choose whether you want citations only or citation + abstract and
export format RIS (for Endnote).
3. Endnote will open asking you which library to save in.
15. SciFinder Scholar
(save results and import):
1. Mark citations you want to keep and click on "save as"
at the top.
2. You will be asked for a place to save the file. Make sure to save
to your own computer not the Citrix server computer on which SciFinder
is running (choose client C drive).
3. Choose a file name and save as .txt file in "Tagged format"
to your computer.
4. Go into the Endnote program and open the library where you want to
save these citations
5. Go under file and choose "import"
6. Click on "choose file" and find the .txt file you saved.
Click "open".
7. Choose the import option for your particular database (if you don't
see it immediately, choose "other filters" under "import
option" and look for it. Choose "SciFinder (CAS)")
8. Click on import
16. Springer Journals
1. When you are in a journal issue, mark the citations that you want
to keep.
2. Click on Export Selected Citations (or Export Citation) at the top
of the page and choose the format RIS.
3. A box will come up asking if you want to save or open the file. Choose
to Open.
4. Endnote should open up asking you which library you want to add the
citations to.