Michigan State University

MeLCat Logo​ MeLCat Outage

Due to major system maintenance, you will not be able to request items through MeLCat beginning on November 18, 2015.  Renewals for MeLCat items will still be possible until December 2, 2015.  The system should be available for requesting again in early December.  If you are MSU faculty, student or staff, please try Uborrow.  Our community borrowers will not have access to interlibrary loan through MSU during that time. For more information, please read this MeLCat Server Migration FAQ. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Michigan Writers Collection

The Michigan Writers Collection serves as a primary resource for the recognition, study and appreciation of the literary tradition that exists and continues to evolve in Michigan.

Part of Special Collections, the Michigan Writers Collection collects and makes accessible the manuscripts and published works of selected writers with important ties to Michigan.

Although in existence for less than a decade, the collection already features several of the most outstanding writers of the last quarter century. Among those included are recipients of a Pulitzer Prize, the Yale Younger Poets prize, National Endowment for the Humanities awards and Guggenheim Fellowships.

The Michigan Writers Collection was originally established to recognize only MSU students who later achieved national and international reputations for their literary work, such as Jim Harrison, Richard Ford, Carolyn Forche, Tom McGuane, Dan Gerber, Lev Raphael, Jim Cash and Jack Epps. But given the important writing talent that exists throughout Michigan, the collection was expanded and now includes poet Jim Daniels, mystery writer Loren Estleman and others.

To make a contribution to support the Michigan Writers Collection of the MSU Libraries, you may donate online.

Photo collage of Michigan Writers