Link to print-friendly version


Anthropology : Useful Links to Information on the Web

Indexes and Databases

  • AnthroSource

    AnthroSource is the premier online resource for anthropologists serving their research, teaching and professional needs. AnthroSource was developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) and brings 100 years of anthropological resources to scholars online.
  • Anthropological Index Online

    Index to periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
  • Social Sciences Citation Index

    A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items, from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts

    Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.
  • Anthropology Review Database (ARD)

    The Anthropology Review Database is intended to improve the level of access of anthropologists to anthropological literature by making them more aware of what is being published and helping them to evaluate its relevance to their own interests.
  • Ancient History

    A list of online sources dealing with ancient and classical studies, classical art and archaeology, early man in Australia, the Crusades, megaliths, Anglo-Saxon history, Egypt, etc. The site generates a second web page where the actual result is displayed. But there are caveats; although the site says it was updated in December 2000, many links lead nowhere, there are mis-spellings, and a couple of URLs are K-12 oriented, e.g. the Homework-Help list from "About, the Human Internet."
  • WorldCat (OCLC)

    WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings magazines, and videotapes.
  • Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology

    This is an online version of an Oxford University Press reference book, one of more than 100 titles in the Oxford Reference Online set. Single books, all books in the set dealing with one subject area, or the entire set can be keyword searched or browsed.
  • Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment

    This collection documents the relationships among peoples and the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection includes both published and unpublished accounts, narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
  • eHRAF: HRAF Collection of Ethnography

    A collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture and subject. Cultures covered in this database are of two types: l. traditional cultures 2. North American ethnic groups. Each annual installment contains about 50,000 pages of text as well as photographs, illustrations, charts, cultural summaries and bibliographic data.
Web Sites to Visit

General information sites or gateways on anthropology and archaeology
  • Social Science Information Gateway : Anthropology

    The Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG) is a freely available Internet service which aims to provide a trusted source of selected, high quality Internet information for students, academics, researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law. It is part of the UK Resource Discovery Network.
  • ArchNet

    The ArchNet website is designed to promote appreciation, understanding, and knowledge about archaeology and the preservation and interpretation of cultural resources, both prehistoric and historic. Information is categorized by geographic region and subject. Catalan, Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish language versions of the home page are also available. ArchNet is a free educational service open to the public, students, and researchers.
  • Anthro.Net

    The Anthro.Net database contains thousands of reviewed web sites and bibliographic references.
  • About : Anthropology

    This site connects the visitor to numerous topics and web sites.
  • WWW Virtual Library : Anthropology

    Directory of anthropology web sites.
  • AHDS Archaeology

    The Archaeology Data Service (ADS) supports research, learning and teaching with high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology.
  • Archaeology on the Net

    "Archaeology on the Net Web Ring aims to bring together archaeology oriented sites on the internet to provide valuable links to all groups of interest."
  • The Archeaology Channel

    "Explore the human cultural heritage through streaming media. Travel through time and feel the thrill of discovery. Examine the wonderful diversity of the human experience!"
Associations and Societies

  • American Anthropological Association

    The American Anthropological Association (AAA), the primary professional society of anthropologists in the United States since its founding in 1902, is the world's largest professional organization of individuals interested in anthropology.
  • American Society of Papyrologists

    The ASP was founded in 1961 to further the study of ancient Greek and Latin papyri and of the materials contained in them. The Society supports and encourages research in the field, the teaching of the discipline, and international cooperation by scholars in the field.
  • Anthropology Society

    "This page is intended to provide you with a variety of information about Anthropology and the Anthropology Society."
  • Society for American Archaeology

    The Society for American Archaeology (SAA) is an international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas. With more than 6,600 members, the society represents professional, student, and avocational archaeologists working in a variety of settings including government agencies, colleges and universities, museums, and the private sector.
  • Society for Applied Anthropology

    "The Society has for its object the promotion of interdisciplinary scientific investigation of the principles controlling the relations of human beings to one another, and the encouragement of the wide application of these principles to practical problems, and shall be known as The Society for Applied Anthropology."
  • Midwest Bioarchaeology and Forensic Anthropology Association

    "The topical focus of our organization and our annual meeting is the excavation, curation, and analysis of human skeletal remains. Our goal is to provide a forum through which professionals and students can share information concerning results of analyses, new methods and techniques of data collection, curation issues, current legal issues, forensic applications, and teaching strategies."
Institutes, Academies and Departments

  • American Folklife Center

    "Ethnographic Resources related to Folklore, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, and the Humanities."
  • California Academy of Sciences, Anthropology Department

    "The work done in our department spans many of the areas dealt with in the broad field of anthropology. Our collection of 16,000+ objects represents material cultures from peoples throughout the world."
  • Center for American Archeology

    "Originally formed in 1953, the CAA's mission is to discover and disseminate the unwritten story of earlier Americans' lifeways, accomplishments, and changing natural environment. Through integrated programs of archeological investigation, educational outreach and cultural stewardship, the CAA strives to accomplish this mission."
  • Center for Social Anthropology and Computing

    "The aim of the Centre is to advance anthropology by developing new methods and means for investigating anthropological problems, to promote the use of computers in 'ordinary' anthropology, and to provide advise and information resources for the anthropology community worldwide."
  • EMuseum

    "The EMuseum fosters graduate and undergraduate learning through participation in research and scholarly activities. Consistent and constant interaction with the global community benefits both. Scholarship and learning are at their best when interactively presented. We involve our students in presenting, discussing and working with cultures, past and present, in order to enhance the understanding of the Human Condition."
  • Foundation for Biblical Archaeology

    "Recovering the Biblical Past"
  • National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives

    "The National Anthropological Archives collects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of the discipline. Its collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include manuscripts, fieldnotes, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars."
  • Royal Anthropological Institute

    "The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense."
Specific Areas of Study

  • Medical Anthropology Web

    "Promoting the cultural & biological study and understanding of health, illness & health care."
  • Society for Medical Anthropology

    "This web site serves the needs of medical anthropology graduate students, practicing anthropologists, scholars, and scholar activists who address issues of local, national and international health importance. It is the hub of an active research community and a storehouse for information supporting the endeavors of medical anthropologists and their colleagues in allied social science fields."
  • German Studies Network

    "GSN is a network within the Society of the Anthropology of Europe. This website features recent news, link and funding resources, and a regularly updated Anthropology of German Studies Working Bibliography."
  • The Giza Archives Project

    "This evolving resource will serve as a centralized online repository for all archaeological activity at the Giza Necropolis..."
  • LatinoThought.com

    "Dedicated to all things Latin American. An online resource for students and scholars of Latin America link to nothing but scholarly sites that provide unrestricted access to important full text documents."
  • Native American Ethnobotany

    "A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants."
  • ForensicAnthro.com

    Resources for Forensic Anthropology students.
  • Virtual Hilltribe Museum

    "The Virtual Hilltribe Museum is a project of the Mirror Art Group of Chiang Rai, Thailand to document the rapidly changing cultures of hilltribe people in northern Thailand."


Page Coordinator: Denise Forro forro@mail.lib.msu.edu
This URL: http://guides.lib.msu.edu/page.phtml?page_id=51
Last updated: 08-15-2008

© 2006 Michigan State University Board of Trustees. MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity institution.