Michigan State University

 Subject Librarians

The table below lists the name, office telephone number and e-mail address of the librarian who specializes in service for each subject area. Subject librarians offer research advice to individuals or university classes, and consider requests for purchase of new materials. The subject terms are linked to corresponding lists of electronic resources. Librarians with liaison duties for Multidisciplinary Collections and Residential Colleges are listed at the bottom of the page.

For general questions about the collection, contact Steven Sowards, Associate Director for Collections at (517) 884-6391.

Collection Development Policy Statements

African Studies
African Studies Joe Lauer
Peter Limb
(517) 884-0839
(517) 884-0838
lauer@msu.edu
limb@msu.edu
Agriculture
Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics Hui Hua Chua (517) 884-0856 chua@mail.lib.msu.edu
Agriculture and Forestry Suzanne Teghtmeyer (517) 884-0894 teghtmey@mail.lib.msu.edu
Animal Culture
inc. Beekeeping, Dairy Science
Sheila Bryant (517) 884-0896 bryants@msu.edu
Anthropology
Anthropology Deborah Margolis (517) 884-0892 deborahm@mail.lib.msu.edu
Architecture

Architecture

Human Environment and Design

Terrie Wilson (517) 884-0862 wilso398@msu.edu
Art History
Art History Terrie Wilson (517) 884-0862 wilso398@msu.edu
Arts, Performing
Dance, Theatre, Film Studies Michael Rodriguez (517) 884-6395 rodri171@msu.edu
Arts, Visual
Photography Terrie Wilson (517) 884-0862 wilso398@msu.edu
Film Michael Rodriguez (517) 884-6395 rodri171@msu.edu
Asian Studies
Asian Studies Xian Wu (517) 884-0837 wuxian@mail.lib.msu.edu
Central Asia Terri Miller (517) 884-0841 ticklet@msu.edu

Western Asia
(See Middle Eastern Studies)

Deborah Margolis (517) 884-0892 deborahm@mail.lib.msu.edu
Astronomy
Astronomy Judy Matthews (517) 884-5882 matthe20@msu.edu
Biological Sciences

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Biology: General

Biomedical Laboratory Diagnostics

Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

Neuroscience

Pharmacology & Toxicology

Physiology

Zoology

Susan Kendall (517) 884-0902 skendall@msu.edu
Botany Suzanne Teghtmeyer (517) 884-0894 teghtmey@mail.lib.msu.edu
Ecology Eric Tans (517) 884-7808 tans@mail.lib.msu.edu
Gull Lake Library Melissa Yost (269) 671-2310 Melissa.Yost@kbs.msu.edu
Business

Accounting

Hospitality Business

Finance

Breezy Silver (517) 432-4181 silverbr@msu.edu

Labor Relations

Human Resources

MBA Programs

Management

Laura Leavitt (517) 355-4647 leavitt9@msu.edu

Advertising

International Business

Marketing

Career Resources

Emily Treptow (517) 432-4182 treptowe@msu.edu

Entrepreneurship

Small Business

Supply Chain Management

Terence O'Neill (517) 884-6685 oneillt@msu.edu
Canadian Studies

Canadian Studies

Canadian Government Documents

Michael Unsworth (517) 884-0854 unsworth@msu.edu
Chemistry
Chemistry Tina Qin (517) 884-7666 qinna@mail.lib.msu.edu
Classics

Classical Studies

Classical Archaeology

Jon Harrison (517) 884-0855 harris23@msu.edu
Clothing & Textiles

Clothing

Textiles

Terrie Wilson (517) 884-0862 wilso398@msu.edu
Comics
Comic Art Randall W. Scott (517) 884-6474 scottr@msu.edu
Communication
Advertising Breezy Silver (517) 432-4181 silverbr@msu.edu
Communication Sharon Ladenson (517) 884-0891 ladenson@msu.edu
Communicative Sciences and Disorders Abraham Wheeler (517) 884-0893 awheeler@msu.edu
Journalism Hui Hua Chua (517) 884-0856 chua@mail.lib.msu.edu

Telecommunications

Communications Technology

Sharon Ladenson (517) 884-0891 ladenson@msu.edu
Computers
Computer Science Tom Volkening (517) 432-1498 volkenin@msu.edu
Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice Jon Harrison (517) 884-0855  harris23@msu.edu
Digital Humanities
Digital Humanities Bobby Smiley
Thomas Padilla
(517) 884-7668
(517) 884-8024
bsmiley@msu.edu
tpadilla@msu.edu
Economics
Economics Hui Hua Chua (517) 884-0856 chua@mail.lib.msu.edu
Education
Education Jill Morningstar (517) 884-0852 jmorning@msu.edu
Engineering
Engineering Tom Volkening (517) 432-1498 volkenin@msu.edu
Environmental Studies

Environmental Policy

Environmental Studies

Jon Harrison (517) 884-0855 harris23@msu.edu
Environmental Science Eric Tans (517) 884-7808 tans@mail.lib.msu.edu

Landscape Architecture

Planning & Design

Kathleen Weessies (517) 884-0849 weessie2@msu.edu
Park and Recreation Resources Suzanne Teghtmeyer (517) 884-0894 teghtmey@mail.lib.msu.edu
Fisheries and Wildlife Eric Tans (517) 884-7808 tans@mail.lib.msu.edu
Ethnic Studies

African American Studies

Arab American Studies

Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies

European Americans and Other Immigrant Groups

Native American Studies

Jon Harrison (517) 884-0855 harris23@msu.edu

Boricua Studies

Chicano Studies Mexican American)

Hispanic (see Boricua, Chicano and/or Latino Studies)

Diana Rivera (517) 884-0848 dianar@msu.edu
European Studies & Russian Studies

British History/Studies

French Studies

Irish History/Studies

Agnes Widder (517) 884-6394 widder@msu.edu
Germanic Studies Mary Black Junttonen (517) 884-0859 blackma@msu.edu

Iberian Studies (Spanish, Portuguese)

Modern Greek Studies

Italian Studies

Mary Jo Zeter (517) 884-0840 zeter@msu.edu

European Studies(General)

Benjamin Oberdick (517) 884-0895 ob1@mail.lib.msu.edu

Russian and East European Studies

Terri Miller (517) 884-0841 ticklet@msu.edu
Food Science & Nutrition

Food Science

Nutrition

Anita Ezzo (517) 884-6397 ezzoa@msu.edu
Gender Studies
Gay and Lesbian Studies Sharon Ladenson (517) 884-0891 ladenson@msu.edu
Men's Studies Peter Berg (517) 884-6396 berg@msu.edu
Women's Studies Sharon Ladenson (517) 884-0891 ladenson@msu.edu
Geography

Geography

Maps/Atlases

Kathleen Weessies (517) 884-0849 weessie2@msu.edu
Geology
Geology Kathleen Weessies (517 884-0849 weessie2@msu.edu
Government
Canadian Government Documents Michael Unsworth (517) 884-0854 unsworth@msu.edu
International Documents Julia Frankosky (517) 884-6387 frankosk@msu.edu
Michigan Government Documents Shawn Nicholson (517) 884-6448 nicho147@msu.edu
U.S. Government Documents Julia Frankosky (517) 884-6387 frankosk@msu.edu
Grants

Foundations

Fundraising

Proposal Writing

Jon Harrison (517) 884-0855 harris23@msu.edu
History

American (U.S.) History

General History (see also specific regions)

Historiography

Bobby Smiley (517) 884-7668 bsmiley@msu.edu

Military Science

Michael Unsworth (517) 884-0854 unsworth@msu.edu

British/Irish History

French History

Medieval and Renaissance/Early Modern Studies

Agnes Widder (517) 884-6394 widder@msu.edu
Ancient History Jon Harrison (517) 884-0855 harris23@msu.edu
International Development
International Development (see also specific regions) Xian Wu (517) 884-0837 wuxian@mail.lib.msu.edu
Jewish Studies
Jewish Studies Deborah Margolis (517) 884-0892 deborahm@mail.lib.msu.edu
Human Resources & Labor Relations

Labor Relations

Human Resources

Laura Leavitt (517) 355-4647 leavitt9@msu.edu
Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Caribbean Studies

Latin American Studies

Mary Jo Zeter (517) 884-0840 zeter@msu.edu
Library Science

Books & Printing

Library Science

Museum Studies

Ranti Junus (517) 884-0878 junus@mail.lib.msu.edu
Linguistics & Language
Linguistics Thomas Padilla (517) 884-8024 tpadilla@msu.edu
Language and
English Language Center
Stephanie C. Perentesis (517) 884-0836 perente1@msu.edu
Literature

American & English Literature

Canadian Literature

Michael Rodriguez (517) 884-6395 rodri171@msu.edu
Mathematics

Mathematics

Statistics

Sheila Bryant (517) 884-0896 bryants@msu.edu
Medicine
Medicine Andrea Kepsel (517) 884-0898 (EL)
(616) 234-2742 (GR)
akepsel@msu.edu

Epidemiology

Biostatistics

Abraham Wheeler (517) 884-0893 awheeler@msu.edu

Osteopathic Medicine

Abraham Wheeler (517) 884-0893 awheeler@msu.edu
Middle Eastern Sudies
Middle Eastern (Western Asia) Studies Deborah Margolis (517) 884-0892 deborahm@mail.lib.msu.edu
Music
Music Mary Black Junttonen (517) 884-0859 blackma@msu.edu
Numeric Data
Numeric Data Hailey Mooney (517) 884-0857 mooneyh@mail.lib.msu.edu
Nursing
Nursing Heidi Schroeder (517) 884-0899 hschroed@msu.edu
Packaging
Packaging Anita Ezzo (517) 884-6397 ezzoa@msu.edu
Philosophy
Philosophy Thomas Padilla (517) 884-8024 tpadilla@msu.edu
Physics
Physics Judy Matthews (517) 884-5882 matthe20@msu.edu
Political Science
Political Science Jon Harrison (517) 884-6733 link@mail.lib.msu.edu
Psychology
Psychology Jill Morningstar (517) 884-0852 jmorning@msu.edu
Public Health
Public Health Abraham Wheeler (517) 884-0893 awheeler@msu.edu
Public Policy

Public Administration

Public Policy

Terry Link (517) 884-6733 link@mail.lib.msu.edu
Religion
Religious Studies Agnes Widder (517) 884-6394 widder@msu.edu
Sociology

Human Development & Family Studies

Social Work

Sociology

Hailey Mooney (517) 884-0857 mooneyh@msu.edu
Special Collections
Rare Books and Special Collections Peter Berg (517) 884-6396 berg@msu.edu
Sports & Kinesiology
Sports & Kinesiology Sheila Bryant (517) 884-0896 bryants@msu.edu
Turfgrass
Turfgrass Pete Cookingham (517) 884-1950 cooking1@msu.edu
Veterinary Medicine
Veterinary Medicine Andrea Kepsel (517) 884-0898 (EL)
(616) 234-2742 (GR)
akepsel@msu.edu

Multidisciplinary Collections

Area Studies (General) Mary Jo Zeter (517) 884-0840 zeter@msu.edu

Browsing Collection
(recent popular fiction and nonfiction)

Terrie Wilson (517) 884-0862 wilso398@msu.edu
Careers (Reference) Emily Treptow (517) 432-4182 treptowe@msu.edu

Funding Center

Grants

Financial Aid

Jon Harrison (517) 884-0855 harris23@msu.edu
Health Sciences (General) Susan Kendall (517) 884-0902 skendall@msu.edu
Humanities (General) Michael Rodriguez (517) 884-6395 rodri171@msu.edu
Main Library Reference Terri Miller (517) 884-0841 ticklet@msu.edu
Planning & Design Kathleen Weessies (517) 884-0849 weessie2@msu.edu
Social Sciences (General) Jon Harrison (517) 884-0855 harris23@msu.edu
Sciences (General) Anita Ezzo (517) 884-6397 ezzoa@msu.edu
Travel (Reference) Hui Hua Chua (517) 884-0856 chua@msu.edu
Vincent Voice Library John Shaw (517) 884-0866 shawj@msu.edu
WRAC (Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures) Michael Rodriguez
Sara D. Miller
(517) 884-6395
(517) 884-0835
rodri171@msu.edu
smiller@mail.lib.msu.edu

Residential Colleges

James Madison College Julia Frankosky (517) 884-6387 frankosk@msu.edu
Lyman Briggs College Suzanne Teghtmeyer (517) 884-0894 teghtmey@msu.edu
RCAH (Residential College in the Arts and Humanities) Michael Rodriguez (517) 884-6395 rodri171@msu.edu