![]()
Veterinary Medicine Summer Program 2002
This guide should be used as a resource to help find material in the MSU Libraries. It is not intended to be comprehensive. Please visit the Veterinary Medical Center library for further assistance.
MSU LIBRARY MATERIALS
Magic is the catalog for all of the MSU libraries and is used to locate books and journals owned by MSU.
IMPORTANT! - You can only use Magic to find the titles of journals the library owns, not the titles of articles. To find articles you must use a database or electronic journal.
You can search Magic by Author, Title, Keyword and Subject.
Veterinary Medicine Reference Books
Animals in Research - a resource guide - HV 4915 .A66 1992
Clinical Veterinary Toxicology - SF 757.5 .L6713 1996
Ethics, Animals & Science - HV 4708 .D58 1999
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine - RC 46 .H32 1994
Other Relevant Websites
Nutrition.gov - www.nutrition.gov
Food & Nutrition Information Center - www.nal.usda.gov/fnic
Nutrient Data Laboratory - www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp
National Institutes of Health - www.nih.gov
Center for Disease Control - www.cdc.gov
National Library of Medicine - www.nlm.nih.gov / click on PubMed link
Health Web - Nutrition - www.healthweb.org
Animal Welfare Information Center - www.nal.usda.gov/awic
Food and Drug Administration - www.fda.gov
General Information
MLA Citation Style - examples of MLA citations
Research Tips - from Grosse Point North High School
Academic/Scholary vs. Popular journal articles - what's the difference?
Evaluating Web Resources - deciding what's useful and what's crap.
Used to find journal articles
Electronic databases have journal citations, some with full-text
Electronic journals - In most cases the actual individual issue is in electronic format. You are not able to plug in terms and search like a database. Most electronic journals are full-text. Click on the issue and the table of contents appears.
Citations for Newspaper articles
MSU Library Databases
General full-text database, containing scholarly and popular articles.
Similar to ProQuest
Worldwide coverage of agriculture literature, including agriculture economics, animal industries, food and human nutrition, forestry, and plant science.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering.
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more.
bryants@msu.edu
Sheila Bryant
Health Sciences/Sports Librarian
Michigan State Universitites Libraries
Vet Med - 353-5099/Main - 432-9208
www.lib.msu.edu/bryants/Vetmedsummer2002.html